Keeping track of manual lens usage

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by mlapinel, Jan 17, 2013.

1. mlapinel

mlapinel Mu-43 Regular

Mar 14, 2012
    Hi- I'm kind of a newbie here, and I really appreciate the knowledge that I have been able to pick up from more experienced photographers on this forum. Thank you.
    I have been using more manual lenses (Konica and Olympus Pen F) mixed in with my native lenses, and lacking the discipline to note what lens I'm using when I take pictures, I am sometimes left wondering what manual lens I did use.
    Does anyone have a good system for keeping track of what manual lenses are used, especially when you might be switching lenses several times on an outing?
  2. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    After i change lens to manual lens i shot at my fingers.
    One finger is my 50mm and full hand in my 135mm.
    For keeping track in LR I use Lenstagger to put the data in the exif.

LensTagger Lightroom plugin
    • Like Like x 2
  3. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    I use LensTagger in LightRoom also. Generally since I only shoot with one manual lens at a time, I just go in after an import and update everything with Unknown lens type to the appropriate lenstagger profile. The only thing that doesn't carry over that way is the aperture information, which I either enter manually if I can remember, or skip otherwise.

You can use something like what elavon mentioned to keep track of aperture changes, or you can do what folks did in the film days and write it down in a journal. I've thought about using a shooting journal a few times, but I take a lot of shots am usually on the go too much to have time to take notes between frames. However, you could use an abbreviated form and just note when you make an aperture change and what frame number you were at.
  4. WILLJ8765

WILLJ8765 Mu-43 Regular

Sep 7, 2012