Keeping camera's colours in aperture??

Neftun

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
415
Location
Norway
Real Name
Patrick Kristiansen
This may be quite basic, but I haven't found a solution..

I like my cameras abilities to tweak colour and bw, and I often set wb manually. Often I find my cameras got colours spot on, and maybe wanna just adjust highlights or something. I see the cam's colours in aperture on the preview, as I shot it, and then the program loads the file completely, but shows a completely different interpretation of the file after a few secs. Colours are different, highlights/shadows are different, it's all different. Jpegs are the same of course.

I wanna know if aperture can keep the camera's settings, and not do a complete reprocess of the data. Anyone know?

Thanks.


Patrick K
 

barry13

Mu-43.com Editor
Joined
Mar 7, 2014
Messages
9,315
Location
Southern California
Real Name
Barry
Hi,

1. make sure Aperture is using 'camera WB' not Auto or some other setting

2. see if you can find a profile for Aperture for your camera... what camera do you have?

3. if you can't work it out with Aperture, try RawTherapee or DarkTable (both free)

Barry
 

dhazeghi

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
4,377
Location
San Jose, CA
Real Name
Dara
I wanna know if aperture can keep the camera's settings, and not do a complete reprocess of the data. Anyone know?
Not directly, no. Aperture does read the camera's WB settings, but that's basically it. You can create a preset to automatically adjust images to be closer to the output of a particular combination of camera JPEG settings (e.g. 'Camera Natural', Saturation +1, Contrast +0 etc.), but there's no built-in profile/preset for the camera's JPEG engine, nor does the camera read the various vendor-specific tags in the RAW file that indicate which camera JPEG settings were used. As to creating your own preset, it can help a lot, but even the best ones don't give a 100% match on tone curve and colors.
 

kevinparis

Cantankerous Scotsman
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
3,912
Location
Gent, Belgium
sounds like you are shooting RAW... which is my preference... however if you are liking what you see on the back of the camera then you are seeing a jPEG reflecting any in camera settings you may have made. In that case shoot RAW plus JPEG until you are more comfortable with Aperture... or indeed any other PP application..

everybody has their own way of working ....I shoot and worry about processing afterwards... others will have different approaches

K
 

Neftun

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
415
Location
Norway
Real Name
Patrick Kristiansen
Thanks for the replies guys. Profiling sounds interesting. I'll check that out.

Kevin: yes i shoot raw, assumed that was a given in postprocessing;) I have noticed your knowledge of aperture; was hoping for a reply from you:)
My primary shooter is em1, and in many cases I like its jpegs. But in some cases I feel it fails utterly. Some shots are terribly grainy (why?? Low iso, med size, plenty light...) and other times weird colouring. My daughter sitting in green grass on a sunny day suddenly has yellow streaks in her face, not visible on raw file. Guess colourdepth??

I'd wish for the cameras settings as a startongpoint and go from there. Is it only olympus viewer who does that?


Patrick K
 

dhazeghi

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
4,377
Location
San Jose, CA
Real Name
Dara
Kevin: yes i shoot raw, assumed that was a given in postprocessing;) I have noticed your knowledge of aperture; was hoping for a reply from you:)
My primary shooter is em1, and in many cases I like its jpegs. But in some cases I feel it fails utterly. Some shots are terribly grainy (why?? Low iso, med size, plenty light...) and other times weird colouring. My daughter sitting in green grass on a sunny day suddenly has yellow streaks in her face, not visible on raw file. Guess colourdepth??
Really can't say without seeing the image/settings. Could be the camera settings, could be Aperture's defaults, could even be a bug in Aperture. Do note that so far as noise reduction is concerned, the Olympus JPEG settings are very aggressive, so some more noise than usual at medium and high ISOs is to be expected, but you should also see a fair bit more detail as well.

I'd wish for the cameras settings as a starting point and go from there. Is it only olympus viewer who does that?
If you're using one of the standard settings - Natural, Portrait, etc., Adobe Lightroom has built-in presets that do a decent approximation. But for a 100% match (or if you've heavily customized the settings), Olympus Viewer is your only option.

If you're used to Aperture and like it's workflow, it's probably worth spending a little time trying to build your own preset. If not, I'd suggest giving Lightroom a try (free trial available). If nothing else, there're a lot more folks here who use it heavily and can offer suggestions.
 

kevinparis

Cantankerous Scotsman
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
3,912
Location
Gent, Belgium
Only olympus viewer knows what adjustments Olympus apply to the image data.

Apple and Adobe and every other raw processor have to guess what Olympus does to its RAW data

they tend to go for a neutral interpretation that offers the most data and the most latitude for correction

the camera does capture a jpeg preview based on the cameras settings that is part of the raw.. and certainly in Aperture you will see that on import before Aperture gets around to making its own preview.

shooting RAW, getting back to what you saw on the LCD on the camera is a challenge... but then again it can be an interesting challenge as you will learn an awful lot about what image processing is all about

Its not voodoo... there is a logic to it all

cheers

K
 

fortwodriver

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Nov 15, 2013
Messages
993
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Real Name
Frank
I've been using Aperture for years. There is no real way to automatically acquire the Olympus colours in Aperture. Your file is simply another RAW format to Aperture.

That said, Aperture's colours are usually quite good, and with enough tweaking of the control blocks and then saving them as presets you should get pretty close. I find Aperture's colours to be more pleasant out of the box than Adobe's. As far as I know, there is no real "profile" in Aperture like Adobe. You're basically using Apple's secret-sauce to read the RAW file. It's the same engine that reads those files any other way in OSX. Otherwise, you'll just have to look for presets on your colour, contrast, and exposure blocks and work from there.

Alternatively, you can shoot RAW+JPEG and join them together in the Aperture library - you can do simple comparisons quite easily that way.
 

mcasan

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Feb 26, 2014
Messages
1,670
Location
Atlanta
Shoot a a jpg and raw of a scene. open both in Aperture. If you are happy with the jpg being displayed, edit the raw to create the same effect. Save those raw edits as a preset. Now you can apply that preset to your other raw files as needed.

The same basic idea applies to Lightroom.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom