1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Jumping on the 4/3 bandwagon

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by jameseboy, Jan 31, 2013.

1. jameseboy

jameseboy New to Mu-43

Jan 31, 2013
    Hi All - hoping for some advice.

I am a amateur but with a keen eye for a good photo. I have a Nikon D80 SLR with 4 lenses and I love it. I am going for a once in a lifetime trip to South America soon with my partner and 2 year old daughter. I have decided that the DSLR is too big to carry.

I am currently thinking of purchasing the Olypmus E-PL5 with the 14-42mm and 42-150mm kit lenses and adding the 12mm 2.0 and 45mm 1.8 prime lenses. In no particular order my priorities are: IQ, wide angle landscape and portraits of my daughter. Size (and minimising attractiveness for opportunistic theft) is also a major consideration. As we hope to visit the Galapagos Islands, some sort of telephoto capability would also be good. Hence I would take the 12, 45 and 42-150mm with me. I also like the potential low light capability of the prime lenses.

The advice I am looking for is - will this set up give me the flexibility and image quality that I am looking for? Any other suggestions? I have looked into the 9-18mm for example but not sure??? Would I be better off with the OMD?

Thanks in advance! I would be gutted if I did not have the right camera set-up on such a great adventure!

James

2. PaulGiz

PaulGiz Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 3, 2013
    Rhode Island, USA
    IQ with E-PL5 is excellent, so done.

14-42 + 40-150 give you an excellent compact setup that goes from moderately wide to quite long in 2 relatively sharp, but not too fast lenses. As an alternate the Oly 14-150 is also a good choice, but at a slightly higher cost.

OM-D is a better camera but the compactness of the PEN camera is quite nice for travel.

I think you're on the right track here. My experience with m4/3 has been very, very positive.

P.

3. demiro

demiro Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Nov 7, 2010