1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Istanbul Street Candids - C&C welcome

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by greg57, Feb 25, 2013.

1. greg57

greg57 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2010
    Istanbul
    Gregory Dziedzic
    istanbulcandids-8314.
    Dear all,

I have been shooting street candids in Istanbul for the last 3 years, mostly with a GF1, but obviously more and more with my new E-M5 and to a lesser extent with a Pentax K-5 as well. I have recently gathered the best shots in my new blog istanbulcandids.com and I'll be happy to get your feedback on it :)

All the best

• Like Like x 6
  2. Streetshooter

Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus

Dec 15, 2009
    Phila, Pa USA
    Greg,
    I spent a good amount of time viewing your photos. The first thing that pops in my mind is the control your forcing upon the viewer by using a title on each photo. It's your work and you can do as you please but you also have a responsibility to the image and the viewer to let them each share the act of discovery.

To simplify, the titles force upon the viewer a preconception that does not allow the viewer to get immersed in the image. It makes the viewer search out the meaning of the title and not the meaning the image would allow the viewer to discover without the title.

bluezdon19111@yahoo.com if you'd like to get deeper into the work in private.

don

3. Jon MS3

Jon MS3 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 14, 2013
    ^ I am inclined to agree. I have never been a fan of titles for photos, especially street shots.

4. greg57

greg57 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2010
    Istanbul
    Gregory Dziedzic
    Hmmm... not the first time I hear it. You're right. Actually my only goal when putting titles was to be able to reference to them easily but it looks like it spoils part of the viewing experience. I think I'll get rid of them...

5. greg57

greg57 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 6, 2010
    Istanbul
    Gregory Dziedzic
    I've erased the titles.