ISO performance

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
i,m still getting used to the camera,

I feel that for 90% of the shots any ISO setting above 400 is not really worthwhile
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
i,m still get used to the camera,

I feel that for 90% of the shots any ISO setting above 400 is not really worthwhile
Bill,
What camera are you using? What do you expect in terms of an image?
I use the Pen 1 all the time at 2400 or there abouts and the results are wonderful....

It would help to explain more and maybe post an image or 2 that you feel shows the problem...
Don't sweat it Bro'...we're all here with you and we'll figure it out...
Shooter
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
Bill,
What camera are you using? What do you expect in terms of an image?
I use the Pen 1 all the time at 2400 or there abouts and the results are wonderful....

It would help to explain more and maybe post an image or 2 that you feel shows the problem...
Don't sweat it Bro'...we're all here with you and we'll figure it out...
Shooter
I have just been "playing around" indoors with a nice Nikon 35 f2 the Nikkor O-C which I have never been able to use on my D300 because it is NAI
Seems a very good lens - I have "binned" all the shots i took at ISO > 400 as I thought that they were terrible - but I will take a few more next week and try to post something sensible now that I am getting used to the G1.
 

PeterB666

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
780
Location
Tura Beach, Australia
Real Name
Peter
I am more than happy with the high ISO performance from the E-P1.

ISO800 here...

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


A couple of ISO3200 shots...

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

sinophilia

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
135
Location
Verona, Italy
I wonder why the GF1's high ISO performance is not as good... can't really shoot in color over ISO800. Can this change with a firmware update?
 

PeterB666

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
780
Location
Tura Beach, Australia
Real Name
Peter
I wonder why the GF1's high ISO performance is not as good... can't really shoot in color over ISO800. Can this change with a firmware update?
Possibly but I don't think it will happen. Panasonic prefers to concentrate on maxing the detail while Olympus prefers to shove user friendly JPEGs out of the camera. At the pixel level, the Panasonic image looks very good with an astonishing level of detail.

The Olympus, at pixel level, can look distintly hacked but it will print out very well at normal print sizes and looks great when viewed at normal screen sizes. The Olympus does better with noise handling but trades away detail. In my opinion, it is probably one of the best compromises out there. The Olympus probably has a minor edge in colours and white balance but there is not much in it there.

Then again, Panasonic trounces the Olympus with AF speed.

Compromise, compromise, compromise.
 

Novaron

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
57
Location
Falls Church VA
What about images shot Raw and then processed in ACR, Lightroom or some Raw converter. Are the differences in noise performance still substantial?
 

Djarum

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
3,353
Location
Huntsville, AL, USA
Real Name
Jason
Possibly but I don't think it will happen. Panasonic prefers to concentrate on maxing the detail while Olympus prefers to shove user friendly JPEGs out of the camera. At the pixel level, the Panasonic image looks very good with an astonishing level of detail.

The Olympus, at pixel level, can look distintly hacked but it will print out very well at normal print sizes and looks great when viewed at normal screen sizes. The Olympus does better with noise handling but trades away detail. In my opinion, it is probably one of the best compromises out there. The Olympus probably has a minor edge in colours and white balance but there is not much in it there.

Then again, Panasonic trounces the Olympus with AF speed.

Compromise, compromise, compromise.
I keep my NR to low on my pen. This seems to balance noise and detail for me.
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
The Pen raw files do very well at high ISO.
The noise is fine in b&w up to and maybe above 2450.
I have done many images at 3200 and pushed to 12800.
In color you should be able to get 1250 easy.
Since I started the Pen...I haven't used Noise Ninja at all. That's how good it is.

Cosinaphile has both cameras and he maybe could join in with an educated point of view.
Shooter
 

sinophilia

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
135
Location
Verona, Italy
can you show us some examples? :)
I try not to take high ISO shots! :biggrin:

Anyway, this was taken at ISO 1250, the noise is still visibile in spite of Lightroom NR (I'll post it large to show it):

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/sinophilia/4287670214/" title="Instability by sinophilia, on Flickr">
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
"1200" alt="Instability" /></a>
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
I gotta show my age here......
Youse ever shoot film? You could never get these results with film.
I mixed my own developers and learned how to cut grain but digital just blows it away.
Think grain...not noise....
 

BBW

Super Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
6,229
Location
Near &quot;Playland&quot; outside of NYC, NY, USA
Here is a photo I took the other day of our dog. I didn't even notice the ISO speed until sinophilia pointed it out to me over on flickr. It was shot on my E-P2 @ 6400 with the Panny 20 @ 1.7 and I was trying out one of the "art filters". I'm pretty sure it was the "pin hole".
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

rst

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
109
Location
Germany
I try not to take high ISO shots! :biggrin:

Anyway, this was taken at ISO 1250, the noise is still visibile in spite of Lightroom NR (I'll post it large to show it):
Have you tried this with the new Lightroom beta version. What I see in your image is chroma noise and in Lightroom beta they claim to have implemented a pretty good chroma noise reduction. Maybe that could help.

Cheers
rst
 

PeterB666

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
780
Location
Tura Beach, Australia
Real Name
Peter
I have just left the E-P1 on its default noise reduction settings and shoot JPEGs. I haven't been able to get a better compromise between detail and noise out of RAW images so don't even bother with them any more.

I would need to apply any sort of noise reduction to my images (even ISO3200 ones) at a rate of less than 1 in a 1000.

What I have noticed is that from time to time, there is a little more noise than I would expect at low ISO. I belive that is due to the dynamic range enhancement process which I have left on auto. BTW, I don't think the dynamic range enhancement works very well at all.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom