1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

ISO and flash photography on the EM-1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by curtisls87, Sep 11, 2013.

1. curtisls87

curtisls87 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 7, 2010
    Los Gatos, CA, USA
    Curt Schimmels
    On a couple of other sites, I've seen a comment or two by "pros" stating that the lack of a native ISO 100 would be a dealbreaker for flash photography in their studio. What I haven't seen is an explanation of why. I'm not a pro, so, can anyone explain why this might be the case? My curiosity has gotten the better of me.

2. Mikefellh

Mikefellh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 7, 2012
    Toronto, Canada
    This "pro" is probably thinking that they would have to adjust their f/stop to compensate for the one stop gain of ISO (reducing the blurring of the background), but they probably aren't thinking that they could adjust their strobes by one stop (either by turning down power or moving the strobes back from the subject).

And this is not an Olympus-only concern...I know many Nikon cameras don't have ISO100.

3. darosk

darosk Mu-43 Top Veteran

Apr 17, 2013
    Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
    Daros
    'Dealbreaker'? Really? Sheesh - there's just no pleasing some people.

Somewhat related, I didn't realize the sync speed for the EM-1 is 1/320th. That's nice.

4. Mikefellh

Jun 7, 2012
    Toronto, Canada
    1/320th is only with TTL flashes...most likely real world non-TTL would be closer to 1/180th when you consider the triggering method and using older flashes.

5. darosk

darosk Mu-43 Top Veteran

Apr 17, 2013
    Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
    Daros
    I use manual flashes on my E-M5 and phottix stratos and I'm shooting 1/250th all day long. As long as the batteries have juice I haven't gotten any issues with black bars.

6. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada