Is this GAS? (17mm f/1.8 or 25mm f/1.4)

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by luiztakei, Mar 11, 2013.

1. luiztakei

luiztakei Mu-43 Regular

Dec 13, 2012
    Luiz
    Last August I bought the Olympus OM-D with the 12-50mm lens. Later I got the Oly 45mm. I use this gear for street photos (my hobby) and for family pictures.

For a while I considered buying the Panny 20mm but that changed when Olympus released their 17mm f/1.8. Now I am also considering the Panny 25mm...

My first question: is this a symptom of GAS (gear acquisition syndrome)?

If not, which lens would you buy (taking into account I am just a grad student with no $$$)?

2. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    First off, reading or posting on this or any other photography forum either leads directly to GAS or is a symptom of GAS (which led you here).

With that out of the way, let's try to decide which lens is going to best satisfy your syndrome. The O17, P20 and P25 are all very nice, fast primes. Before you choose one, you want to make sure that the field of view fits your personal shooting style. One way to do this is to use your kit zoom and set the focal length at each 17, 20 and 25 and shoot with that for a while (I would recommend at least an hour with each, but a full day would be bettter) to see which FOV speaks to you.

I personally value the pancake form-factor of the P20 so much that I would tip the scales in that direction despite the lens shortcomings (i.e. noisy and slow to focus) unless I found that 17 or 25 was obviously a more comfortable focal length for me. The P20's lower price doesn't hurt either.

• Like Like x 2
  3. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    Ehud
    If you do not shot video get the 20mm. It is as good as the others with much lower price. You can get it at lower if you search for a used one.