Is this a good price for a used macbook?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rhaab, Jun 19, 2013.

1. rhaab

rhaab Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 19, 2013
    2009 macbook
    2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
    4GB RAM 1067 MHz DDR3 (can upgrade to 8GB)
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256MB Graphics
    Dual Card Reader
    2 USB Ports
    Ethernet Port
    Firewire Port
    Thunderbolt Port
    8X Dual CD/DVD Drive
    160GB 5400RPM Hard Drive
    Snow Leopard O/S 10.6

they're asking $850. It's my first time using mac and I plan on using it to edit videos with my gh3
  2. slothead

slothead Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 14, 2012
    Frederick, MD
    If it is really just a MacBook, it is overpriced in my opinion. If it is a MacBook Pro it's a little better, but I think they are selling at closer to a little over $1K new these days. I'm going to send you a useful link in a PM.

And by the way, think about a MacBook Pro with Retina display. I don't know the current price right now, but I understand they have come down significantly from the $3K I paid (loaded) for mine.
  3. elpanda

elpanda Mu-43 Regular

Feb 22, 2011
    2.53GHz should be a MacBook Pro (that year's MacBooks were clocked between 2 and 2.26GHz as far as I know).

But then it is weird since all the 2.53GHz 2009 MacBook Pros had 250GB hard drives, not 160GB.

Weirder still, these machines didn't come with Thunderbolt, they just came with a mini DisplayPort connector.

Finally, the ad doesn't say if the screen is a 13" or 15".

Personally, unless you're buying from a trusted source, I'd stay away from it. If trusted, try to confirm all the details they gave you, without that it will be hard to tell if the price is correct.

If the machine indeed turns out to be a 2009 MacBook Pro then it is actually really expensive. I wouldn't go higher than $500 for a 13" and $600 for a 15".
  4. sinclair

sinclair Mu-43 Veteran