Is there an online primer or beginner's guide to legacy mounts?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by tanngrisnir3, Nov 14, 2011.

1. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    I understand there's an entire world out there of quality, cheap legacy MF lenses to be had w/M4/3 cameras (a GH2, in my case), but I've never done this before and am about to get a number of Minolta and Zeiss lenses from the early 1980's that some relatives no longer have any use for.

** On edit ** Getting some Canon "FD" glass as well.

You folks have been immediately helpful every time I've had a question, and rather than asking about each lens (and I won't have them until Thanksgiving) and dragging things out, is there some online resource I can access that is like a "M4/3 Legacy Glass Mounts 101" out there?

After having checked out CL and some other resources, there is a LOT of interesting glass out there, and I'd like to have some foreknowledge before possibly making any purchases that wouldn't be advisable.

2. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX
    Yes, there is an online resource like that out there. It's called "the whole internet." The problem is that each lens comes from its own complete system that spanned decades. For example, Minolta had the SR mount that went from the 1950's until last decade:
    Minolta SR mount - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    While they had that mount, they also made the AF mount:
    Minolta AF - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So, if you want to know about a certain lens, you're going to have to compress the knowledge of decades into a quick summary, to know if the lens was worthwhile or not.