1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Is the G3 and 45 1.8 a good combination?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Amrak, Oct 7, 2011.

1. Amrak

Amrak Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 7, 2011
    Seattle, Washington
    I'm looking to get a nice portrait lens. I read the 45mm 1.8 from Olympus is a good lens, but is this lens okay with the G3? Would I have any problems not having stabilization? I'm fairly new to this stuff and would love to get opinions. Thanks!

2. ZephyrZ33

ZephyrZ33 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 18, 2010
    Southern California
  3. Armanius

Armanius Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 23, 2010
    Houston
    Muttley
    I was just using my new 45 on a G3 that I picked up yesterday. The combo works fine just like it does in an Oly body. Personally, and without having done any statistical research or measurement, the 45 seems to AF a little bit faster on the EP3 than the G3.

4. Amrak

Amrak Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 7, 2011
    Seattle, Washington
    Those pictures look a little washed out and somewhat soft. I primarily want to get this lens to shoot my girlfriend's head shots for her dance portfolio. I used to use my LX-5 and got very good results. Any recommendations where I can get this lens online?

5. Armanius

Armanius Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 23, 2010
    Houston
    Muttley
    Good luck mate! They are typically backordered. Latest update was that the Olympus online store had some in stock. So I'd check the Oly website.

I preordered mine from Amazon back in July 7. Got it this week.

6. Linh

Linh Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 14, 2009
    Maryland, US
    would not surprise me if it did better on the oly bodies. I love mine on the g3 in testing. I have been side tracked with some personal matters so I haven't been able to really use it. But is seems quite nice from my testing. Would like it to focus faster of course, but it's up there in speed

7. Amrak

Amrak Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 7, 2011
    Seattle, Washington