IS switched off by default when sequential shooting is selected on E-M10?

MadMarco

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
438
Location
Guildford, England
Hi All,

I've just been going through the menus on my E-M10 trying to figure out why IS doesn't seem to do anything much.

I tend to leave the camera in Sequential Low Speed (Shooting Menu 2, Sequential Mode - Sequential L) as one of my stock go-to settings, so 90% of this time it's set this way. It seems by default that the IS is switched off when in sequential mode (Menu Settings C
Sequential + IS Off - On), I don't remember ever changing this setting. Changing it from On to Off enables IS in sequential and so far seems to have a very positive effect on the images at low shutter speed. The sample shots below were shot indoors in low light ISO3200, 1/13s with the Olympus M.Zuiko 14-150 @150mm to make things difficult.

Sequential + IS Off - On
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Sequential + IS Off - Off
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


This seems like a very odd setting to have by default; has anyone else noticed this setting and if it is indeed the default, any ideas why it is set that way?
 

Ulfric M Douglas

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
3,709
Location
Northumberland
It was noticed in one of the very first good reviews of the E-M5 : yeah, crazy but solveable, you solved it.

The "factory defaults" can be bizarre from the point of view of someone actually using the things.
 

MadMarco

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
438
Location
Guildford, England
Thanks for confirming this, I thought that I was going mad.

It's a bit of a peculiar default setting, I wonder why it is set that way?
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,870
Location
UK
The logic is that people doing continuous shooting use high shutter speeds, so they don't need IS. Having IS on also slows the max frame rate at high speed sequential.
 

MadMarco

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
438
Location
Guildford, England
The logic is that people doing continuous shooting use high shutter speeds, so they don't need IS. Having IS on also slows the max frame rate at high speed sequential.
Makes sense, although I often use sequential and shoot in batches of 3 when photographing at low shutter speeds to increase the chances of having a keeper.

P.S. I'm now rather impressed with the abilities of the 3-axis IS on the E-M10. Getting a high proportion of steady pictures at 1/13s with a 300mm equivalent hand-held is very nice.
 

JimUSNY

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
122
Location
Mid Hudson Valley NY
Real Name
Jim
I almost always am shooting sequential at low speed set to 4FPS on my EM1, unless I specifically want a higher fps, I have my IS set so its on during sequential.. this does pose a problem when I am shooting birds, which is what I do most often.. if I want to shoot a bird that is perched I want IS, however one in flight I do not want IS on, I wish there was a way to set it so IS was only on for the first shot after half press in sequential so I wouldn't have to have IS on on panning shots without having to umbel around and turn it off.. yet for the birds perched I can use it for a single shot and just only let it fore once, them release shutter again..

BIF most times dont give you any time at all to focus yet alone turn off IS, I do use auto IS, but I still think shots of BIF are better with IS off even at slower shutter speeds.. I haven't checked all the new features in version 2 yet, will have to go look through and see if I can find any, I dont think they even had a setting for a button to turn IS off and on quickly, or to switch shooting modes.. or maybe one of the lever settings
 

JimUSNY

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
122
Location
Mid Hudson Valley NY
Real Name
Jim
Now I am really confused, I see they changed IS setting in EM1 ver 2, but I can still see and hear IS working whether I have it on or off in sequential IS in low speed, and even after first shutter click without releasing shutter button, and no button setting for IS on and off, I now will look and see if that setting gets saved in a my set, then at least I can switch to a my set quickly and just have it set to IS off everywhere.. funny with all the things we can set I still seem to find more I want and less use of those they do have available.. I still do not understand why having camera set to lever 5 mode that a button for MF is no longer available
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,870
Location
UK
It works very sensibly. At the default setting the IS is on when you half press, helping you find the bird in the viewfinder. Then when you take the high speed sequence it goes off so you get the best speed.

I don't know why you use low speed when you can have high speed and increase your chances of a good result.
 

JimUSNY

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
122
Location
Mid Hudson Valley NY
Real Name
Jim
It works very sensibly. At the default setting the IS is on when you half press, helping you find the bird in the viewfinder. Then when you take the high speed sequence it goes off so you get the best speed.

I don't know why you use low speed when you can have high speed and increase your chances of a good result.

Oh that is only for high speed sequential? I thought it was for all sequential shooting, I dont use high speed because it seems to get out of control on still shots sometimes, but I suppose I can just change the high speed fps to less than 10.
also since CAF is so bad I shoot saf/mf so need time between shots for focus
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,870
Location
UK
Oh that is only for high speed sequential? I thought it was for all sequential shooting, I dont use high speed because it seems to get out of control on still shots sometimes, but I suppose I can just change the high speed fps to less than 10.
also since CAF is so bad I shoot saf/mf so need time between shots for focus
I use multiple very short bursts, but at full speed. If your finger is under control you can take just three frames in a burst, and a moment later take another burst.

Like you I use SAF+MF. But I don't allow any time between shots for focus, instead I work on the basis of random movement. At these very high frame rates there is a probability of getting the perfect focus on frame 1 or 2 or 3. I find the second frame is often the sharpest.Try it.

Here are a couple of examples, both with the 75-300 set to 300mm, handheld. 1/1000.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

JimUSNY

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
122
Location
Mid Hudson Valley NY
Real Name
Jim
OK I guess what was confusing me was I hear IS working in either low or high speed, with IS off in menu, so apparently it is active for the first shot even with it set to off in menu for sequentially shooting, so that is what is important to me.. I want to be able to just quickly go from a still subject to a moving without having to change anything, although for BIF I pretty much have switched to a canon when it is my main purpose of what I am going for. its C/AF actually works :)
 

zathras

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
161
Location
Waikato, New Zealand
Real Name
Chris Nielsen
I had IS turned on during sequential but I had real trouble getting sharp shots so I turned it off, I assume my panning upset it. Just have to be careful with my shutter speeds
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom