Is it me, or is it the 17mm f2.8 lens?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Web-Betty, Oct 27, 2013.

1. Web-Betty

Web-Betty Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 16, 2013
    Denver
    MJ
    I have attempted to use this lens on multiple occasions, and have been very frustrated by the results. I understand that this could very well (in fact, most likely) be due to operator error--I am an unapologetic noob. :biggrin:

That being said, I would love for the community to take a look these pics and tell me what I am doing wrong? By all accounts, this lens should be taking better pictures than I seem to be getting. I have the 45mm f1.8 and get fantastic shots. I know they are two completely different pieces of glass, but I find it odd that I'm struggling so much with one, while making great strides with the other.

Maybe I'm expecting too much, or I'm crazy, or both. :doh:

Oly M17 f2.8
    1/200 @ f/11.0
    Aperture priority
    ISO 1000
    Taken at dusk; sun had just dropped behind the mountain
    PA265625.

Oly M17 f2.8
    1/1600 @ f/4.0
    Aperture priority
    ISO 1600
    Taken at dusk; sun had dropped behind the mountain
    PA265647.

Oly M17 f2.8
    1/640 @ f/3.5
    Manual exposure
    ISO 200
    Taken late afternoon; not in direct light
    P9174511.

2. LDraper

LDraper Mu-43 Regular

Feb 4, 2011
    Albuquerque, NM
    What's dissapointing about these to you? My first thought is that they are all taken in flat lighting and may be a little underexposed.
    More often than not it's the quality of light that makes a picture work - the lens is secondary to that.

3. jyc860923

jyc860923 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    these seem real to me, what are you expecting?

also I'm curious about using f11 on the first one

4. DHart

DHart Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 7, 2010
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Don