Is E-P1 best camera to take around the world?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Benerus, Apr 15, 2010.

1. Benerus

Benerus New to Mu-43

Apr 15, 2010
    Hi all,

I am new to the forum. I bought the E-P1 last summer and took over 2,000 pictures traveling in Italy. As a complete amateur, I had a hard time at first but eventually sorted out the trade-offs among ISO, speed, aperture and started to get some decent shots. It was light enough to carry around all the time.

After reading the great posts in this forum I bought the Panasonic 1.7/20mm. It is truly super, especially the faster auto-focus.

Now... I need some expert advice.

We are taking the kids out of school next year and will be visiting 30 countries across 12 months. We will be in Greece, Paris, Florence, Egypt, Vietnam, Cambodia, Africa, Galapagos, Machu Picchu, etc. Needless to say, this is once in a lifetime and we want to come home with lots of amazing photos. (I am planning to take a course in photography along the way and that should help the user side of the equation.)

Question 1 - is the E-P1 the best "main camera" for this journey? What would you take? I was assuming the E-P1, because of its super blend of small size with bigger sensor than point and shoot. But I am a bit worried that in hindsight I will look back and wish I had something more powerful. If there is a better camera to bring, then I am ready to buy that and switch or supplement. I know a DSLR would be better but coming from point and shoot world it just seems so big and bulky that it would be painful to carry every day for a year. Would an upgrade to an E-P2 make a worthwhile difference?