Is a cheap ring flash a waste of money?

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by flamingfish, Feb 12, 2015.

1. flamingfish

flamingfish Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 16, 2012
    Emily
    I'm a complete noob when it comes to lighting, other than trying the clip-on flashes that came with my E-PL3 and E-M5, deciding that they're pretty much useless, and tossing them back in the box.

I'm thinking that I'd like some supplemental lighting for macro with my E-M5 and Oly 60mm. There's a major (indoor) flower show around here in the next few weeks. I'd like to try some shots, but the lighting is always pretty poor. Would a cheap ring "flash" (which is more likely to mean an always-on LED light than a true flash) be a waste of money? If not, is there anything I should be aware of when choosing one?

If you think it's not worth the money, what would you recommend for a first "starter" flash? If there's something relatively inexpensive that would be useful for indoor shots as well as macro, that would be great.

2. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew
  3. kingduct

kingduct Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 12, 2013
    I'm sorry, I'm going to go off-topic here: I got into m4/3 photography because the refurbished E-PL1 was dirt cheap. I got my first prime lenses for my camera because the Sigmas were dirt cheap. I've only paid slightly more to move up to a G5 with a couple of other lenses. This statement just rubbed me a bit wrong.

With that said, I am interested in the original question of what is a good starter flash, because I myself don't know.

4. flamingfish

flamingfish Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 16, 2012
    Emily
    Both of these are adapters for a speedlight. I don't have a speedlight, or any light other than the little flashes that come with the cameras.

If the conclusion is "get a speedlight," any recommendations for a budget speedlight, or advice on choosing one?

5. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010