1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Investing in micro four thirds

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by jonlong, Oct 25, 2013.

1. jonlong

jonlong Mu-43 Regular

Oct 25, 2013
    First, some background: I'm new to micro four thirds and relatively new to camera systems in general. I had progressed through various high end point and shoots and recently purchased a Lumix G6 with the 14-42 ii lens and later bought the lumix 45-150 lens. I've been happy with the combo so far but feel that low light performance is slightly lacking. I like to shoot outdoors, urban and wildlife, but I also play in a band and need the low light performance for indoor low light shooting.

Size of the camera is not an issue to me, so I was looking at comparably prices dslrs ranging from d5200 to d7100 and rebel t5i to 70d, but I liked the comprehensive feature set that came on the G6. My question is this - do you guys think there is any reason to be concerned about investing in the mft system? I'd like to buy good lenses for the G6, and then upgrade to a GH body if and when the sensors see significant improvement. Do you think mft will continue to see significant improvements to sensor technology? Will new focus systems, such as hybrid phase/contrast detect be compatible with current lenses? Dslrs are well established, so you can confidently buy good lenses. Mft is still young, so I don't have the same level of confidence.

I realize this is a highly subjective question, but I'd like to hear your opinions on it.

Thanks!

2. snkenai

snkenai Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 5, 2010
    M4/3 is here to stay, for the foreseeable future. Oh, we can't see the future. Can we? :smile:

3. jonlong

jonlong Mu-43 Regular

Oct 25, 2013