1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Intro to Astrophotography?

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by rgugler, Apr 7, 2014.

1. rgugler

rgugler Mu-43 Regular

I just love everybody's photos, and I am excited to try some of my own. I was wondering if anybody could recommend a good primer on how to start with an EM5? I am totally new to m43! When my camera gets here I will have the 12-50mm and 45-200mm lenses. I am also looking a good, lightweight tripod. A hiker/photographer friend recommended the Sirui T-025X. The aluminum model is more in my price range. What else so I need to start astrophotography? I will be working on the Charles M Russell NWR this summer, so I don't want to miss out on all the dark sky time!

Thanks!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

2. Djarum

Djarum Super Moderator

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Jason
    What kind of astrophotography are we talking about here? Wide angle sky shots or serious telescope astrophotography?

3. rgugler

rgugler Mu-43 Regular

Wide angle shots, mostly, though if I could get a nice moon shot now and then it would be awesome.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

4. orfeo

orfeo Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 27, 2013
    FR
    You need the Astrotrak...

5. it'sAlvin

it'sAlvin Mu-43 Regular

Feb 16, 2014
    Bay Area CA
    Alvin
    mo money mo money money:biggrin:

6. rgugler

rgugler Mu-43 Regular

Don't we all! :D Unfortunately wildlife biology doesn't lend itself to getting rich ever, much less quick! :D

7. CiaranCReilly

CiaranCReilly Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 18, 2012
    Dublin
    Ciaran Reilly
    This is a very very good guide to astrophotography without breaking the bank - http://www.bartbusschots.ie/blog/?p=2386 - Bart is a friend of mine, a talented photographer and excellent at explaining things.