Interesting observations about concert photography with an O-MD E-M5

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by AttackDonut, Aug 15, 2015.

1. AttackDonut

AttackDonut Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 22, 2015
    Hi Gang,

First off, thank you for the tips, suggestions, etc. that you have given to me, and posted elsewhere. It has allowed me to get maximum functionality in a minimum of time.
    I am a concert photographer (metal) and my normal weapon of choice is a Nikon.

I was asked to shoot a 10 hour concert with 20 bands. Gwar, Clutch, Down, GoatWh*re, Dickies, Descendants, etc.
    I knew my Nikon would handle this no problem, but I wanted to carry something lighter. Concerned about battery life from what I have read around the 'net, I bought 5 spare batteries. One in the body, one in the power grip (factory default one) and 3 spares.
    I bought 5 memory cards (16GB 300x, 45MB/s), and shot RAW.
    I set my camera up for C-AF, EVF only.
    Here is what I discovered today:

I only used up one battery (the one in the power grip) and changed it out. The batteries lasted far longer than I expected.
    As usual, I took way too many shots (about 1000. Now comes the no fun part, processing)
    I shot on 4FPS (Low) speed and it was enough, though I would have liked the option to bump that up to 5 or 6fps.
    The Olympus was a joy to shoot and rarely missed focus, even on the heavy action shots, it nailed things dead on.
    The Auto ISO was a joy to have. I set my shutter speed and aperture, and the camera decided the ISO, very very useful with the changing conditions.
    I did fill up the buffer, but the cheap cards I bought were written to very fast and I only missed shots because I was not looking, rather than waiting for the camera to dump the buffer.