Indoor Photos... who's taking good ones?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by richiebee, Oct 21, 2010.

1. richiebee

richiebee Mu-43 Regular

Jul 26, 2010
    St. John's, NL, Canada
    I've started using the G10, and I must say I'm really disappointed in the quality of my indoor images. Noise even at 100ISO, and lacklustre colour really have me somewhat turned off. I realize I'm new to this camera, and my photos are surely suffering from it. If anyone is taking good indoor photos with one of the Panny's, what is your approach and what kind of settings do you use on the camera?

Just using standard kit lens.

2. shoturtle

Oct 15, 2010
    With the color you can shoot in raw and edit in post production to get the color more to your liking. The panny jpeg engine is not that great.

The 20mm would give you a bit better low light ability.
  3. grebeman

grebeman Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2010
    South Brent, south Devon (UK)
    I was lead to believe this to be true, and that's as an owner of both G1 and GF1 cameras, however I think this is now only true in terms of the default settings. It requires some work since there are several settings that can be adjusted to give much more satisfactory jpeg output from the Panasonic cameras.
    Can I suggest you read this thread which should give you some ideas about setting up the jpeg output from a Panasonic camera to provide better output than the default.

4. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    are you shooting with flash or just natural light? - post an example of what you are getting and maybe we can help.
  5. shoturtle

Oct 15, 2010
    I read it, and you can set the setting to be more pleasant to ones eye. But it still does not do the colors as well imho as other jpeg engine. It is not great but okay, and some pp work can work on it more with jpegs as well.

6. richiebee

richiebee Mu-43 Regular

Jul 26, 2010
    St. John's, NL, Canada
    Here's an example