Inconsistant Exposure with FL-600r - Overexposed in iAuto, underexposed in manual - PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by dlhomesolutions, Dec 24, 2015.

1. dlhomesolutions

dlhomesolutions Mu-43 Regular

Sep 30, 2013
    Peoria, IL
    Hey guys. I am new to the flash game. I need some major help here. I am using the FL-600r off camera in RC /Slave mode with my OMD Em-5 ii's flash as the trigger.

I have a problem getting consistent exposure from the flash. It either comes out almost completely black when I am in manual shooting mode or Shutter priority mode. Shooting in iAuto is way too much exposure. Do I have my settings messed up? I am including some sample images. I took all the shots with the same settings. You will see some got a nice flash from the side and some are totally worthless.

Please HELP! inconsistant exposure - woman 2. inconsistant exposure woman 1. inconsistant exposure - chair.

2. piggsy

piggsy Mu-43 All-Pro

See if yours looks like my issue -

is my FL600R broken?

in my case it required repair from olympus.

3. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
  4. Halaking

Halaking Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 17, 2012
    Los Angeles
    Morris
    Did you turn on RC mode on Flash and camera?

5. dlhomesolutions

Sep 30, 2013
    Peoria, IL
    Yes. RC nice is on. You can see from the pictures, I got the flash to fire but only lIke 2 out of 10 times did the exposure come out correct.

6. dlhomesolutions

Sep 30, 2013
    Peoria, IL
    Yes. I did have it on rc mode. And the remote flash on sl-a. It fired every time but only 2 out of 10 times did the exposure come out right.

7. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
    Quick thoughts:

• Underexposed/black can happen when the flash is triggered too soon after the last shot and it had not had time to recycle completely. It is really easy to outshoot a little speedlight.