1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

In a pickle ... what to do

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Holger, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Holger

Holger New to Mu-43

Mar 7, 2018
    I have been shooting Nikon gear for the past 20 years and mainly shooting my D800. About 3 years ago I acquired a Panasonic FZ1000 and I started primarily travelling with just the FZ despite the trade offs.

I like the idea of a bridge camera and the camera performed reasonable well (not quite as FF with expensive glass) but ok’sh. However I recently played around with the RX10 MK3 as well as the Olympus and the Olympus E1.2 was quite a nice solid camera.

I am off to Japan in a months time and I will be shooting a lot of low light places such as temples etc. Something the FZ doesn’t excel well at. I am now in a pickle of taking my beast (D800) and all the glass with me or buy a new camera.

The RX10.3 is a great camera but quite heavy and limitations with low light are still present as it uses a 1” sensor. The lens is very sharp.

Buying a G9 (not yet handled one) with the 12-60mm and be done with it, use the FZ if I need more reach in good light

Or buy the E1.2.

Cost wise they are all at the same league from what I can see.

The new Sony A7III is nice as well but lenses are starting to get heavy again.

Anyone got any suggestions to what I should do for my trip to Japan. It is raining and cherry blossom season so weather sealed camera would be a plus which the FZ isn’t.

Not seen any comparison between a RX10.3 and one of the top of the range MFT cameras. Shame nobody compared the new Song against the G9 yet.

What’s the verdict....

2. TNcasual

TNcasual Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Dec 2, 2014
    Knoxville, TN