Improving Skin Tones on the Panasonic G3

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by xdayv, Apr 26, 2012.

1. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Tacloban City, Philippines
    Dave
    Admin: please feel free to move this post to wherever it deems proper. I posted it here because it concerns the Panasonic. Thanks!

Hi. I have been trying to improve how the Panasonic RAW files render skin tones, and I just wanted to share what I learned. I'm not an expert in calibration nor in Lightroom post-processing. But just in case, this might help those who have encountered similar situations. :biggrin:

Here's the article I recently wrote:
    Improving Skin Tones on Panasonic G3

• Like Like x 6
  2. mnhoj

mnhoj There and back again

Dec 3, 2011
    Los Angeles
    John M
    Looks good Dave.

Edit: Just tried it with the GH2 and it works great. I whispered "Magenta be gone" clicked the preset and it's gone.
    Thanks Dave.

3. Crdome

Crdome Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 11, 2011
    West Central Indiana
    Chrome
    Dave, thanks for your study.

• Like Like x 1
  4. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Dave
    glad to know. cheers!

5. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    Is this preset for LR3 or LR4? If it's for LR4, I'll ask you to send it to me.

Thanks!

6. riveredger

riveredger Mu-43 Regular

Aug 30, 2010
    Northern NJ
    I actually like the originals better. They are rendered with the Adobe Standard profile applied, I assume?

7. EP1-GF1

EP1-GF1 Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 12, 2011
    Nice work. I prefer your corrected ones - the originals have that "Panasonic look" that I don't like at all. I'll send you an email request for the preset because it would be nice to have an easy way to deal with stuff from my GF3.

8. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Dave
    LR3, but would presume it will work just fine on LR4.

Yes. Thanks for the feedback.

Piers, hope the preset goes well on your end.

Cheers!

9. Steph

Steph Mu-43 Veteran