Impressions of OMD with Portrait (strobed) work?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by crashwins, May 15, 2013.

1. crashwins

crashwins Mu-43 Regular

Oct 13, 2010
    Northampton, MA
    I've had an EP1 and a small collection of terrific m43 glass for a while: Oly 45, Panny 20mm, etc..

I mostly do street stuff (sort of why I got it in the first place), but I want to give portrait photography a shot. I'm talking pocket wizards, 580s, a softlighter or 2, etc. Basically, staged stuff with lighting. I mentioned this to my friend who does a lot of this work and he balked at the idea of me getting the OMD for this (Mark 2/3 all the way for him).

Would the OMD be up to snuff for this kind of portrait work? The idea of buying a new system (especially the insanely expensive Canon system) for this is rough. I'm not a pro, I don't get paid for my work. That said, I don't need anything blown up to poster-sized print, but a gorgeous 8x10" would be nice :) Thanks!

2. Mikefellh

Mikefellh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 7, 2012
    Toronto, Canada
    Do you mean a regular flash portrait, or strobed as in:
    P7183843.

Actually the E-M5 is fine with both...I've used mine in the studio (I've shot with the E-3 and E-330 before that). The question is though if the 580 flashes can work in "dumb" (non-TTL) mode.

Also with Live Bulb you can see the strobed image "develop" as it's being exposed, and know when to close the shutter.

3. cstevens

cstevens Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 11, 2010
    UK
    I have started to use mine in the studio also, its perfect….only issue sometimes is its a bit dark in the studio

4. Arvin

Arvin Mu-43 Regular

Jan 18, 2012
    Hey Crashwins,

Your path sounds very familiar :)