Impressed with the E-PM1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by sol95, Nov 29, 2011.

1. sol95

sol95 Mu-43 Rookie

Nov 29, 2011
    Hi everyone

first post here on this forum. I'm a long time hobby photographer, dating back to when I was in university with an old film Pentax EFX SLR. In this digital era, I've been shooting various Canon DSLRs, and currently have a 5Dii with a nice collection of Canon L glass.

From that perspective, while m4/3 was an interesting blip on my radar, it wasn't anything that I was too interested in. However, 2 months ago, when I was visiting New York, I stumbled upon a free E-PM1 handed out by Olympus. I was astonished they were giving away freebies, but wasn't going to say no to a new camera.

2 months later, suffice it to say that I'm mighty impressed with the output of this little champ. So much so that I've bought a Panasonic 20/1.7 along with an adaptor to use with my Canon L glass.

While my camera of choice is still my 5Dii. When I'm heading out and want a camera I don't have to worry about, it's the PEN Mini with 20/1.7 attached. A wonderful set up.

Anyways, looking forward to reading up more here and learning from all you m4/3 veterans. :)
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Alf

Alf Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 23, 2010
    Northeastern Tuscany
  3. addieleman

addieleman Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 5, 2010
    The Netherlands
    That mustn't have been Olympus's business case, to give away cameras for free and augment Panasonic sales :biggrin:. Welcome, enjoy your stay here!
  4. RetroBoy

RetroBoy Mu-43 Regular

I'd like to see a shot of the little PM hanging off the back of one of your big L lenses!

Oh yeah, and a few taken with said lenses + E-PM1...
  5. Welcome. I'm quite new here too. Perhaps you could reward Olympus by buying their 45/1.8, it is a lovely portrait prime.
  6. sol95

sol95 Mu-43 Rookie

Nov 29, 2011
    I'm off on a trip later this week, and plan to pick that lens up in Singapore. :)
  7. sol95

sol95 Mu-43 Rookie