1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Image Sharpening

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Brian Beezley, Dec 15, 2013.

1. Brian Beezley

Brian Beezley Mu-43 All-Pro

Because I'm an undisciplined beginner, my images invariably need a fair amount of sharpening. So I've been investigating various sharpening methods. In addition to the usual Unsharp Mask, I've looked at RL Deconvolution in RawTherapee and several advanced methods in Image Analyzer. I haven't yet compared all of the methods. I find evaluation of image sharpness quite subjective. It's not always easy to decide which method or parameter values seem best.

To compare two images, I switch between two aligned windows with a mouse click. In Chrome I create the windows by right-clicking on each image and selecting Open image in new tab. Offline I use two instances of IrfanView. I find the switched-aligned comparison method much more revealing than scrolling between two images. Any differences pop right out.

[​IMG]

I took this shot with a manual focus lens, the Zuiko OM 35mm f/2.8. I used the lens wide open to minimize motion blur, but this left me vulnerable to misfocussing due to beginner's neglect aggravated by the narrow depth of field. I tried several methods to sharpen this image. To process it, I opened the RAW image with Olympus Viewer 3 and set Sharpness to -2, the minimum setting. This still applies a little Unsharp Mask sharpening, but it is a very small amount. Then I generated an uncompressed, 16-bit, 1024x768-pixel TIFF image for further processing by various programs, including OV3 itself. For consistency I generated all JPEGs with Image Analyzer. I set JPEG quality to 100.

[​IMG]

I generated this image with Unsharp Mask in OV3. I used strength 250, radius 1.0, and threshold 0. I have not used this sharpening method much and I'm not sure I chose the best parameter values.

[​IMG]