I'm not getting sharp photos with E-P5

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dgphelps, Apr 11, 2014.

1. dgphelps

dgphelps Mu-43 Regular

May 5, 2013
    I've been using an e-pl3 for several years and love it. I had the two zoom kit lenses but almost always shot with vintage glass, preferring my Pentax primes and at times going to a few Canon lenses. Evan with manual focus I was able to get amazingly sharp photos...

I bought an E-p5 about 4 weeks back and have been shooting with m zuiko 45 1.8, 17 1.8, and a 60 2.8. I find that most of the time I miss that crisp focus no matter how much I mess with the aperture. It's like there is a soft focus throughout.

I know there is a whole shutter shock discussion and I tried the 1/8th delay but never saw a noticeable difference. I have also changed the IS to 1 instead of auto and tried many shots with it off and it's still mostly the same.

I find if I shoot with the 60mm on macro it tends to be slightly better with more in focus that out. Any ideas? I'm starting to wonder if I should just give up and return it. :(

I love the camera but should be getting crisper shots with it and new auto lenses that I did with the older model and legacy lenses. I'm bummed.

2. Sammyboy

Sammyboy m43 Pro

Oct 26, 2010
    Steeler Country
    …. must be the camera, can't be human error ……. :smile:

• Like Like x 1
  3. dgphelps

dgphelps Mu-43 Regular

May 5, 2013
    E-P5 not getting sharp photos :(

I'd be surprised if after several years taking sharp photos manually and without 5 axis IS I'd not be able to get but a handful to match with the new body and lenses.

I'm actually asking for any advice determining what the issue is. Hoping it is something with settings I can fix. If it is settings I'd consider that human error. ;)

4. stripedrex

stripedrex Do or do not. There is no try.

Jun 8, 2012
    Long Island, NY
    Alex