I'm an idiot.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by rwisem, Jun 26, 2015.

1. rwisem

rwisem Mu-43 Regular

Jun 20, 2012
    Sequim, Washington, USA
    Roger Wiseman
    So, last week-end I took some pictures at a college graduation party for a niece. When I got home and reviewed them, they were all out of focus. I checked my E-PL6 and noticed that the autofocus wasn't working. I was using A mode all day with a Panny 12-32. Autofocus worked on the program modes, but not A, S and M. I kicked myself for not using P mode as usual. I have that set up to be shutter priority with some tweaks.

I wrote to Olympus about it several days ago and have not heard back.

Today I started playing with the camera again, diving into the menu looking for some kind of reset. I couldn't find any, but started playing around with the button assignments. When I got to the Fn2 button, I was confused. I couldn't find an Fn2 button on the camera. There was a function assigned to it (don't remember what it was). I decided to turn it off, since I couldn't find the button anyway. Then presto! autofocus is back to working in all modes!

Where is this mysterious button and what is it supposed to do, other than crap up my autofocus?
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2015
  2. Lcrunyon

Lcrunyon Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 4, 2014
    Maybe the function was focus lock?
  3. davidzvi

davidzvi Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 12, 2012
    Outside Boston MA
    Function button 2 is the movie button I believe.
  4. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

L-Fn are buttons on lenses.
    B-Fn are buttons on battery/accessory grips.

Fn are buttons on the camera body. Note that some buttons (like the Rec button) are actually other Fn buttons... you may have assigned it to MF and forgotten about it.
  5. rwisem

rwisem Mu-43 Regular

Jun 20, 2012
    Sequim, Washington, USA
    Roger Wiseman