1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

IBIS Makes So Much More Sense

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by nueces snapper, Sep 10, 2011.

1. nueces snapper

nueces snapper Mu-43 All-Pro

You know I'd have an Oly AND a Pany but for Pany's ILIS. There's a great deal on a GH-2 on the FS board and I would snap that up in a minute just for fun and experimentation ... except I'd have to buy Pany lenses for it. Too bad.

I think Pany outsmarted themselves. IBIS just makes more sense in every way. Lenses can be cheaper and more $ can go to better glass. I think a lot of folks would own both system bodies if they were both IBIS.

And as an Oly fan I'm not really interested too much in Pany lenses. ( the PL 25mm may be an exception although not if I have to live with a rattlesnake ). But Panasonic is stuck with ILIS. Forever.

But then what do I know. I'm a m4/3 noob. :tongue:

2. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    The usual acronyms are IBIS and OIS :) Honestly I think Panny does a better job on bodies overall, but IBIS is a big enough feature to keep me on the Oly side. I don't mind having OIS lenses, the 45-200 for example seems to work much better with OIS on and IBIS off, especially as you get to longer focal lengths. But I get stabilization with a nice compact cheap kit lens, and the pancakes, as well as any adapted prime lens I want.

Sure a lot of people are perfectly happy without IBIS, but I think it just makes the whole system that much better.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
    This is what annoys me about micro four thirds. I like aspects from both camera brands. I like IBIS, but I also like the fact my G3 uses a newer 16mp sensor. I wish they'd just combine their technology. :frown:

4. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA
    Fred