I want to learn LightRoom 5

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by HaViet, Mar 31, 2014.

1. HaViet

HaViet Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 20, 2014
    Hartford, CT
    Hi guys, I am completely new to photography and like to learn how to use LR5. I like to learn how to make my poor looking photos a bit nicer with basic corrections such as sharpness, exposure, etc.

Could you suggest books and/or online resources that would get me started?

Thanks much!

2. HaViet

HaViet Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 20, 2014
    Hartford, CT
  3. HaViet

HaViet Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 20, 2014
    Hartford, CT
    Stupid question. After watching the video, I renamed my folder structures and now all my links are broken.

How do I update/refresh my catalog? Or should I just delete and create a new catalog?

4. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    www.lynda.com

search for 'lightroom'.

You'll be busy for, oh, quite a long while.

5. DekHog

DekHog Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 3, 2011
    Scotland
    Go to the top of your folder structure, right click, then click synchronise ...

6. jnewell

jnewell Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 23, 2011
    Boston, MA
    Did you make changes using Windows File Explorer or Lightroom? You can move folders around in the Lightroom Library module and it will make the changes in your hard drive file/directory structure, but LR will be aware of the changes and you won't have sync issues. :smile:

7. HaViet

HaViet Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 20, 2014
    Hartford, CT
    I made the changes in Windows Explorer.

Thanks, my catalog is now updated.

8. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    Books: Martin Evening's "The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 Book" and Jeff Schewe's "The Digital Negative".

Video: The Luminous Landscape Lightroom intro and advanced video package. You have to buy them, it's not free, and they get a bit chatty at times but there's a hell of a lot of useful information buried in them.

9. Replytoken