I need some computer software/hardware advice.

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
Hello there people. I am not sure where to ask this so I played it safe and posted it here.
SO here is what I been thinking about lately.
I have an old laptop which I should upgrade as soon as I have the money too, but it still work OK for me for now..
I recently seen a great deal on LR5 for under a hundred dollars, and wondered if I really need it or if it would be a waste of money to buy right now with the hardware I got, Which is a Toshiba Satelite L505D with only 4 gigs of RAM (2x2gigs) .
on it I have Photoshop CS5 Extended with LR3.4.1, They have served me well and I have no complaints, but then again I may not know what I am missing.

Any major photo processing that I needed to do I would use the Local Colleges computer lab, they had CS6 and LR5, but I usually just went there to Print mostly, or work on Class projects. I no longer take classes there and my ID expired this summer, plus it's about a 45min to hour drive away.


So I been wondering, when I seen the LR5 for sale, if i should buy it or would it just be a waste to buy right now and probably run very slow on my computer compared to what I already have. Maybe I should just Max out my ram for right now, or would that be a waste of money that I should save towards a better computer, or would maxing out the ram and getting LR5 be OK for a long wile and I can hold off on a computer for a while (especially since I would be spending some of that money).
Or maybe just do a wipe and reinstall everything on my laptop, bringing it back to factory (probably spending a whole weekend on this) and it may also run a little better.

Than again, maybe I should just leave well enough alone, and keep using what I have .. if it aint broke, type thinking.. which is ok because money is tight without a steady Income right now...

I mean I have noticed how slow it is, but I can't remember if it always seemed this slow on my computer or if its just because I am now using my laptop all the time and I am subconsciously comparing it to the computer lab that I would use.


Anyway . . . Advice? Donations? lol
 

wjiang

Mu-43 Legend
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
7,024
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
FWIW I'm running the latest Adobe Camera Raw and Photoshop CS on an I5 with 4GB of RAM. It's okay for the most part.

I suggest you get the trial for Lightroom 5 and see if a) it is worth getting and b) whether it will run okay.
 

davidzvi

Super Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
3,570
Location
Outside Boston MA
Real Name
David
If you know you're going to be upgrading your computer I might grab the new lightroom. But mainly because of the cloud stuff adobe is doing. Personal I prefer living on the ground and not in the cloud. But also in case you upgrade you camera, lightroom 5 supports many cameras that did not exist when 3.4.1 was out.

I'm not sure I would install it on your old system and I certainly would not spend anything up upgrading it. But just incase adobe does more lightroom to the cloud at least you'll have the last version before they do.

Since you note that you sometimes use the local college's systems you can play with the new features so I won't bother going into them, try them on yours own and see if you would make use of them. I can tell you that I use main of them and as a result I use photoshop less.
 

rparmar

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
654
Location
Limerick, Ireland
I don't know the specifics of your case, but in general it would make sense to get the software when at its cheapest. If it works fine on your current system, you win. If not, you can think about upgrading, if and when.
 

Ellsass

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 15, 2014
Messages
88
If you know you're going to be upgrading your computer I might grab the new lightroom. But mainly because of the cloud stuff adobe is doing.
Agreed. Buy it now, even if you don't install it, just to get the license. I will be shocked if LR 6 is available without subscribing to Adobe Creative Cloud (i.e. a monthly fee to use LR, which means it'll cost you over $100 if you keep it for more than a year).
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
FWIW I'm running the latest Adobe Camera Raw and Photoshop CS on an I5 with 4GB of RAM. It's okay for the most part.

I suggest you get the trial for Lightroom 5 and see if a) it is worth getting and b) whether it will run okay.
Good Idea. Thank you

If you know you're going to be upgrading your computer I might grab the new lightroom. But mainly because of the cloud stuff adobe is doing. Personal I prefer living on the ground and not in the cloud. But also in case you upgrade you camera, lightroom 5 supports many cameras that did not exist when 3.4.1 was out.

I'm not sure I would install it on your old system and I certainly would not spend anything up upgrading it. But just incase adobe does more lightroom to the cloud at least you'll have the last version before they do.

Since you note that you sometimes use the local college's systems you can play with the new features so I won't bother going into them, try them on yours own and see if you would make use of them. I can tell you that I use main of them and as a result I use photoshop less.
Yes I am going to be upgrading my computer, I am just not sure when funds will allow.. At the earliest it might be around Christmas time.

I had not thought about future camera support. I currently Use my computer with photos taken from a DMC G1 & GH2 as wells an E-PL1 on occasion, and have no problems. But I would love to get a GX7, maybe within a year. If my Adobe software doesn't support the Raw files, I didn't realize that there would be nothing I could do without a mandatory upgrade.

That is something to think about.

I don't know the specifics of your case, but in general it would make sense to get the software when at its cheapest. If it works fine on your current system, you win. If not, you can think about upgrading, if and when.
I thought I was pretty specific, what info was lacking?

Agreed that it would make sense to get the software when at its cheapest, but only if its use is imminent. Otherwise it might be a waste.
Example
A few years ago I purchased two 1 TB external Hard drives. It was a black Friday deal for $95 each. I got 2 because I though it would be worth it since I had a 500GB & 250GB almost full (I was shooting like mad and had many projects going on).
But right now I only have one of them 3/4 full (even after transferring all the data of the 250mb) and the other unopened, and those drives are selling for about $95 new Now, and sure to go down by the time I need to break open the second box. My productivity just changed and I didn't realize I would be shooting far less and scanning far less.

Anyway, what I took away was just to buy what I need and not more.

Agreed. Buy it now, even if you don't install it, just to get the license. I will be shocked if LR 6 is available without subscribing to Adobe Creative Cloud (i.e. a monthly fee to use LR, which means it'll cost you over $100 if you keep it for more than a year).
Yes, that would make sense if future camera RAWs could always be supported somehow, but as pointed out earlier to me, as I get a newer camera I would need newer software.
 

OzRay

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
4,991
Location
South Gippsland, Australia
Real Name
Ray, not Oz
I have a Gigabyte S1080 tablet (not a powerhouse device by any means) with LR5 and Design Premium CS4, which I use when away from my PC and it works fine. Get LR5 now while you can, as after that it's all subscription.
 

val

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
548
Location
Australia
Real Name
William
Tweak your PC, defrag and stop unneccessary background processes and start ups just to free up your HDD/RAM/CPU
 

alex66

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Messages
1,464
It may be worth putting a couple of 4 gig sticks of ram in there, if you find it a bit sluggish when you start using LR5. That being said I am still using a 6 year old netbook with a low powered Atom cpu for travel and it seems to be able to play high def films ok and I did at one point have lightroom on it and it worked ok just a bit slow.
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
The Specs you linked are very detailed, but many will not just click on a PDF to download. There have been many security issues with PDFs in the past.

There are other software options, but yes Adobe is always releasing new versions of Lightroom to support new cameras. So getting v5 will at least cover most if not all the current cameras.
I Need to correct something.
I will do it in a new post here, since it was quoted by you already and I can not edit that posts quote too.. I meant to say I use a G1 & GH2.
If you feel like editing my quote in your post David, I will just edit my original and delete this one here .. if not that is OK too ..
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
That was not a reference to YOUR current cameras but to all the current cameras from any manufacturer.
Umm.. Yea .. Obviously I wasn't implying otherwise, or the offer to delete that post would not have made any sense.
So, that was not a reference to YOUR post but to the QUOTE of mine in YOUR post.

Its OK, I too have been guilty in the past, of skimming posts and not fully reading everything.


OK so for the sake of Continuity, you just need to edit My quote post #10 to read GH2 instead of GH1. Then you can delete Posts #13.
I have edited my Post # 7 to read GH2 instead of GH1. Then I will delete Post #12, like I said and then this one, Post #14.
Then the extraneous information and communication will be eliminated. Everything remaining will still be relevant & coherent. :smile:
 

Growltiger

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,837
Location
UK
You have an old dual core processor but at least you are running Windows 7 64 bit. You can upgrade the laptop to 8GB.
I would do just that, install 8GB of memory and buy the new Lightroom.
 

RDM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
1,408
Location
Orange County, New York
Actually I didn't just skim the post. The only relevant parts of what I quoted were actually just the "future camera support" and from "I would love to get a GX7" onward. But I didn't want to cut out more than I already had.
OK, well ether way, the only thing that was relevant, in my post to you, was that I had made a typo and asked, if you wouldn't have minded, for my quoted post within you post, to be adjusted. Nothing more. And you misunderstanding that caused four more irrelevant postings .. :laugh1: but on the bright side this made me smile.
 
Top Bottom