I just bought a 25mm 1.8 lens. It seems I can set the f stop to higher than 1.8? Are all primes like

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by mootxico, Dec 18, 2014.

1. mootxico

mootxico Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 6, 2014
    Still a newbie here. Been taking pictures with my e-pl1 for 3 years using kit lens, recently decided to upgrade to a e-pl7 and bought a 25mm F1.8 recently.

It appears I can increase the F to higher than 1.8? Isn't the prime lens supposed to be only fixed focal length?
  2. emorgan451

emorgan451 Mu-43 Veteran

The F number is the aperture not focal length. Your lens is fixed at a 25mm focal length.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. MarkRyan

MarkRyan Instagram: @MRSallee

May 3, 2013
    Focal length determines field of view. Aperture determines how much light passes through the lens.

A prime lens cannot change its field of view, but it can certainly change how much light passes through.
  4. pellicle

pellicle Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 10, 2010
    Southport, OzTrailEYa

Question is confusing. Yes F can go "higher" in the selection of bigger numbers. These represent smaller aperture diameters.

You then mention the focal length so I'm confused as to what you are asking. Perhaps its simply that you have confused the two numbers. Some lenses have f also written for focal length. So your lens has a fixed focal length of 25mm but you can of course alter the aperture from fully open (f1.8) through to having a very small aperture like f22

Try looking at the front of the lens from the front when you take a shot. You will see the aperture stop down (if you have set it smaller, like say f22)

Hope that helps
  5. mootxico

mootxico Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 6, 2014
    Ah, sorry. I'm such a scatterbrain

I meant by the aperture (the f1.8 thing).

Is there a difference between using my 25mm prime at f3.5, and using my kit lens (14-42 1:3.5-5.6) zoomed in a little at 25mm, at f3.5 too?
  6. Vivalo

Vivalo Olympus Loser

Nov 16, 2010