I Gave up the Panasonic G9 for? Sanity Check!

t2490jh

Mu-43 Rookie
It's been a long time since I have posted on this site. As we all know the camera industry is going through some difficult times. Three years ago I sold my Pentax gear (K52s) for the Panasonic G9. Well almost. I had a Fuji camera for about a week and hated the menu system. I'm a hobbyist who likes to take good pictures. Maybe I gravitated towards the G9 since for the simplicity and robustness of the camera. Very similar to the Pentax. What i hated about the Pentax was the glass. Slow and not very sharp in my opinion. I did love the Pentax 100mm 2.8. The Sigma 35mm 1.4 was outstanding and the Sigma 17-50mm 2.8 was very good. That was it. I love the G9 and the selection of glass that I have. The lenses I have are the Leica 12mm 1.4, Leica 12-60 2.8-4.0, Leica 50-200 2.8-4.0, Olympus 25mm 1.2 pro, and the Olympus 45mm 1.2 pro. All lenses are outstanding. I know FF would give you improvements in DR, ISO performance, and DOF. For me, personally, I am very sensitive towards ISO performance than the other two. This is the reason I bought fast glass (at least for micro 4/3's).

The first question I would like to hear from this forum: Do you regret moving from micro 4/3's to FF (if you did)? Do you fine the weight and the cost prohibitive? Does anyone regret their choice?

The second question: Is anyone concerned with moving to another format or brand given the state of the industry? Other than Sony or Canon I think everyone else is at risk (for personal reasons I don't prefer either). The reason I ask this is that I'm not so sure on Panasonic FF given their limited market penetration and Nikon FF due to their fast fall from 2 to 3 in market share. I like the product offering of both companies. However, I'm not sure if the weight and cost of the glass is worth it or if they will be around in 3-5 years.