I don't want to be a pro photographer after all

Discussion in 'The Watering Hole' started by entropicremnants, May 25, 2013.

1. entropicremnants

entropicremnants Mu-43 All-Pro

Jul 16, 2012
    John Griggs
    Kind of a catharsis really... it's been cooking in my mind and then I find myself stating it out loud, although sometimes it comes out as, "I am just an amateur art photographer". And no, it has nothing to do with Marissa Mayer's foolish speech.

When I picked photography back up after a long hiatus, I had an idea in my head that I was supposed to be a "pro" photographer. I think I had "quality" and "pro" mixed up in my head. I do want to do quality work, and to have it be "mine".

So, I started looking for gigs, got a few, made a few dollars and figured I was on my way. But if I'm honest -- I don't like doing that over and over again. I would prefer to just be creative and do what passes with me for "my art" -- whatever that means exactly and even I'm not totally sure, lol.

When I was doing music, I was in a few bands and got tired of playing out and doing the same songs over and over and over... well, you get the picture. The low-level pro stuff like weddings and so forth just don't have enough interest for me. I far more liked composing, or jamming, or improvising new parts for the old songs -- which doesn't work too well sometimes in a band, lol.

I really think I'm no different in photography. I just want the creative side, but I'm not interested in the business. When I see someone like a Giulio Scolio or other pro who is not only managing a business but pushing into new technologies and techiques I'm in awe. But I can't see myself having the business acumen. That's why I work for other people in my day job, lol!

So, I'm altering my website and presentations and I'm just going to do what I do and hope people get and/or stay interested in it.