I don't get it ...

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by stargate, Apr 29, 2014.

1. stargate

stargate Mu-43 Regular

Aug 14, 2013
    Greece
    Hi everybody.
    I do have a question about street photography.
    What is it that makes a good street photo ?
    I have the feeling (and I am possibly wrong) that the vast majority of street pictures are just snapshots of people walking around or just expressionlessly looking at the camera.
    What could the photographer be trying to show the viewer?
    Is there a way to quantify the good points I should be looking for?
    I surely have seen street photos that have taken my breath away. Some are funny, some are graphically intriguing some have amazing composition, but the majority seems so uninteresting to me that I begin to wonder if there is something wrong with the way I appreciate my hobby. I am not a photo critic (amateur or proffesional) but I have 40 years of photo experience and I like to try to appreciate all genres of photography whether they are the kind of pics I shoot or not.
    I understand that not all tastes are the same (and that is a good thing) and every one is free to like or dislike anything but I am the kind of person who thinks that if a lot of people like something, there must be something good in it and I would like to try to experience it too.
    So I am posting here, where all the fans of this genre gather, not to start a fight or create a nuicance, but to sincerely try to find the missing facts that will make me enjoy the nice photos of this genre too.
    Now if some people would chime in and give me some pointers, I would really appreciate it.

• Like Like x 3
  2. fransglans

fransglans Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 12, 2012
    Sweden
    gus
    a good street photo for me means that a message is given to me, an expression, mood, etc.

But i think that the message needs to be clear.