I Am Paralyzed: Fight or Flight - Legacy Telephoto

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by nueces snapper, Feb 14, 2012.

1. nueces snapper

nueces snapper Mu-43 All-Pro

I am a ranch manager on a 20k acre ranch in deep SW Tejas. We have three miles of live ( kinda running [of late] ) water. ie bird and wildlife central. I enjoy shooting wildlife and obviously have abundant opportunities. :smile:

My photography urge is high these days. It ebbs and flows if you know what I mean. It's been slowly building last couple of years and if past performance is an indication I will get a couple years out of this 'photo maximum'. Plus my times of changes are behind me and I may stay with this job and this location till I croak. I'm 62. I'm over 20 miles from the nearest wide spot in the road and 4 hours from a city. What else am I gonna do out here besides work, hunt, fish and photo? :cloud-9-039:

So much for the intro. I really like m4/3 and will likely stay with it. But my history is one of changing formats, tools, and approach readily in response to the quarry. Right now I need long glass for the critters.

Lately I have been bugging resident denizens by PM who are doing amazing work with m4/3 and big legacy telephotos to get their perspective on the genre. I spent two days immersing myself in the market place and am ready to strike at a moments notice. $2K? Phaa! You can't take it with you and I am footloose and fancy free. Kindasortamostly. :thumbup:

But something is not letting me pull the trigger. I already have figured out that it is a safer bet to invest in a better example of the required lens: Canikon 400mm or 500mm manual focus so that in the event the bottom drops out of my wanna, I can sell it easily. Or say I get so into it I decide to sell my boat and buy a Nikon D800 and 600mm AF lens to go with it. :biggrin: