I am not convinced...

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by rklepper, Jul 14, 2013.

1. rklepper

rklepper Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 19, 2012
    Iowa, USA
    Robert
    ...that 2 out of 5 is good.

So I love my 12-35 and my 35-100. That is about where it ends. The 7-14 has the crazy purple blobs and so I never use it. The 25 rattlesnakes and so I never use it. The 100-300 pretty well sucks under most conditions so I never hardly use it.

I find myself traveling with just the two lenses and everything else stays at home as I find them bordering on unusable. I am so glad that I didn't sell my 5DIII and lenses. Say what you will, they just give me what I need.

I may just keep the 2 good lenses as a travel kit and get rid of the rest.

I have been shooting for 50+ years and never had so many issues with any "system"

2. shutterduster

shutterduster Mu-43 Regular

Feb 8, 2013
    Keremeos, BC. Canada
    Dave T
    I guess your m34 lenses just don't work with 5Diii

My guess is that if you were to attach your lenses to a m4/3 body that costs even half of what your 5Diii retailed for you might be somewhat more convinced.:confused:

3. rklepper

Dec 19, 2012
    Iowa, USA
    Robert
    Which body might that be? And that would take care of the rattlesnaking and the purple blobs?

4. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    I have had 3 copies of the PL25 on an EPL5 and an OMD. None of the rattelsnaked. Do you have the latest firmware on both body and lens?

I've had 3 copies of the P100-300. All of them great. Generally, I don't use IS, so I would shoot only at 1/640+. If the light levels were not there by a stop or two, I would use the Lens IS. If the light levels were really not there, well, that's not the place for the P100-300.

The P7-14 purple issue is a big reason I stick with the O9-18.

Having said that, I have downscaled my m43 system to travel status, and my 6D is my main system. I think they are complimentary.