I am new to EP 2!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by nishendu, Jun 22, 2010.

1. nishendu

nishendu Mu-43 Regular Subscribing Member

Jun 21, 2010
    Dallas TX
    This sems to be the most informative place full of nice people!. Thanks for letting me in.
    I do have a question. I own EP 2. A friend of mine has offered to let me borrow Olympus 50-200 lens ( Olympus Zuiko 50-200mm f/2.8-3.5 Digital ED SWD Lens for Olympus Digital SLR Cameras) to be used with MM-2 attachment. I was wating for the new micro four third lens (42-150). I am not very experienced with this camera, just wondering if it is possible to use this expensive lens on my Alaska trip with family. I don't think the new 42-150 is out yet.

• Like Like x 2
  2. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

Welcome nishendu and thank you for joining the site and introducing yourself here!:biggrin:

I suggest that you might want to copy the part of your post regarding the lens question and post a new thread in the Adapted Lens forum, after you've taken a look at the "stickies" there. Sometimes there can be issues with the auto focus, etc., when using adapted lenses. I'm afraid I'm not knowledgeable about these lens, so I can't offer any advice. It's possible someone who can will post here but in case they don't - the Adapted Lens forum is the place to pursue this.

3. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman Subscribing Member

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    the 50-200 is a superb lens....

....but it is big (especially zoomed out) and quite heavy and will be very unwieldy to try and hand hold on a e-p2.

[​IMG]

With a tripod it might be workable, but only if you have the tripod collar for the lens.

There were i believe 2 versions of this lens, the later one having improved autofocus. Autofocus will be slower on the E-p2 because it will use Contrast detection as opposed to the Phase detection you get on a full 4/3 body.