I’m getting started with lighting...

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by FirstAscent, Jan 5, 2018.

1. FirstAscent

FirstAscent Mu-43 Regular

Nov 7, 2017
    Alaska/Oregon
    Hello everyone!

I’ve wanted to dive into the lighting world for quite some time and now I’m actually starting to do some research.

I’ve never used flash before aside from built-in camera flash on previous Sony bodies.

I’m not a pro and photography is not my job, however I do appreciate solid engineering and forward-thinking in companies. I’d rather pay a premium upfront and grow into it rather than finding the cheapest option to get started.

So far in my research it seems that different manufacturers don’t play well together, which makes me assume I need to pick a brand I can grow and expand with for many years.

Initially, my interests would be for photos of people as well as outdoor activities (Climbing, mountain biking, and snowboarding/mountaineering), all in a non-studio environment. I would love to expand in a studio environment as well as I have friends that teach different types of dance and yoga and would have a blast experimenting with that.

Of course while researching brands I found Profoto which is really expensive. But I did like their setup and how their new a1 can be mounted in the hot shoe while being the master controller as well. Im sure other brands have similar options as well but just noting I liked that feature.
    I would also prefer radio communication as opposed to IR/line-of-sight.

So as I mentioned earlier, I would want to start investing in a brand I can grow with over time that will allow me to be flexible in different environments.

I know I have a lot to learn so I’m just gathering as much info as possible.
    Thanks for any info/suggestions you can provide

p.s. TTL and HSS I would want as well, because why not use the technology available =)

2. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew