1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Howdy-do, and how I got here

Discussion in 'The Watering Hole' started by TheEmrys, Jul 20, 2014.

1. TheEmrys

TheEmrys New to Mu-43

Jul 20, 2014
    I am a fairly new photographer, but it is something I have had an interest in for the last 25 years. A couple of years ago, I used some credit card rewards points and got a Sony a560, one of the last model with an OVF. All was well and good, until I started taking pictures of elk. Being only an hour from Rocky Mountain National Park, I started to get more and more interested in lenses with reach. I went through not good (but not bad) lenses, like the Tamron 200-400, up to the very good good Minolta AF500/8 reflex lens up to the amazingly good Sony 70-400G. Well, along came a baby, and some of the longer lenses had to go. I got laid off from a terrible job, and pursued a Master's degree (1 class left!). In my spare time as a stay-at-home dad/grad student, I bought and sold lenses on a small, but fairly profitable scale. Worked my way into an a65, and fell in love with the EVF. I will never go back. I ended up getting into a full frame a99. Being able to use all of the classic Minolta lenses the way God intended was a revelation. The 50/1.4, 35-105, 70-210/4, 17-35, and the stunningly good 80-200 HS G all of a sudden made sense. It was fun.

Then a thought occurred to move from quantity to quality. I also wanted portability because my wife and I, living in Colorado, really enjoy the outdoors, particularly hiking. So I sold or traded it all away everything and "settled" for an a7, 24-70/4 (which is far better than its been described), and the amazing 55/1.8. An a-mount adapter rounded out my kit with a long, wide, and semi-macro option, and I was off to the races.