1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

How to use E-PL1 to it fullest?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by alipanga, Feb 4, 2012.

1. alipanga

alipanga New to Mu-43

Feb 3, 2012
    I just bought my E-PL1 last month, and I'm just a newbie on DLSR cams.
    Can anyone teach me the techniques and tricks for this one?

2. zerotiu

zerotiu Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 13, 2011
    Indonesia-Singapore
    the answer for this question will be long and boring :biggrin: !
    I try with simple answer, first you must learn the relation between shutter speed, aperture and ISO. You can search this by searching on google.

Then try to learn golden ratio rule or another photograhpy rule. The purpose of these rules are too guide you and to be broken after that :biggrin:

• Like Like x 2
  3. alipanga

alipanga New to Mu-43

Feb 3, 2012
    LOL! I think I need to learn the basic first huh? Thanks zerotiu!

4. lstzephyr

lstzephyr Mu-43 Regular

May 20, 2011
    Ignore all of it. Take the camera outside and take a picture of something. If you like the picture then do something like it again. If you don't like the picture then do something different. Repeat until you find what you like.

After you have done that then worry about what other people think of your photos and what technique they think you should use.

• Like Like x 1
  5. taran

taran Mu-43 Regular

Oct 19, 2011
    Your first million photos or so will suck. After that, you will know what to do.

6. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada
    I must be a slow learner!!!

• Like Like x 1
  7. zerotiu

zerotiu Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 13, 2011
    Indonesia-Singapore
    Learning while practicing the theory is the best.
    I'm not 100% right but I'm definitely not 100% wrong either, if you just shoot and you don't understand the relation between that 3 important settings... uhh..

It will take too long to realize what that setting for.