How to tell if IS is working

J. Allen

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
40
I'm wondering if the IS on my EP-2 is working. Whether I zoom in using the magnification screen or don't zoom in and just view the shot with the shutter half depressed in either case I really don't see a difference between IS on and off. The image seems pretty stable with it both on and off but zoomed in there is slight movement either way Does anyone else notice a difference or hear anything? I'm wondering if I should send the camera in. I'm in IS 1. I'm used to really seeing IS kick in on my long Canon lens. I've tried it with the oly 17 and pana 20 and seems the same on both. Thanks
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
Set the camera to auto IS. With dedicated lenses it will find the focal length.
Do this first... Then you should feel the IS kicking in...
 

J. Allen

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
40
Set the camera to auto IS. With dedicated lenses it will find the focal length.
Do this first... Then you should feel the IS kicking in...
I don't see, hear or feel anything with auto IS on using the 20 1.7 or 17 2.8. Do see, hear or fell anything when it kicks in?
 

shoturtle

 
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
823
if you take a photo with shutter speed down at 1/4 and 1/8 of a sec, and there is no camera shake, then the IS working. Simple rule of them to avoid camera shake without is was 1/focal length. So with the 20mm to avoid camera shake 1/20 shutter speed, the 17mm 1/16 shutter speed. So if you are shooting down at 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/10 shutter speed, then IS is most likely working.
 

J. Allen

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
40
I figured it out. The IS only kicks in when you release the shutter. Tried it at 1/10 sec with IS on and off and the difference is clear with no movement in the IS on shot and blur in the off shot. You don't actually see any IS with the shutter half pressed because it's not working until you release the shutter.
 

J. Allen

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 29, 2010
Messages
40
if you take a photo with shutter speed down at 1/4 and 1/8 of a sec, and there is no camera shake, then the IS working. Simple rule of them to avoid camera shake without is was 1/focal length. So with the 20mm to avoid camera shake 1/20 shutter speed, the 17mm 1/16 shutter speed. So if you are shooting down at 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/10 shutter speed, then IS is most likely working.
Thanks Shoturtle - we must have been typing at the same time. I tried it and it works.
 

VisualFX

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
38
So that's what is causing the noise! :) It didn't even cross my mind.

If you switch to video mode, you can easily tell if IS is working. First, turn it off and pan the camera around. There is no delay. Now turn it on, and pan left and right. You will see that the motion looks smooth on the LCD and there is a short delay when you quickly stop panning. Very obvious. The image on LCD also gets zoomed in a bit. I wonder how much resolution is lost in this process?

The IS is noisy. During long exposures you can hear it grumbling away.
 

Brianetta

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Sep 5, 2010
Messages
438
Location
North East England
Real Name
Brian Ronald
So that's what is causing the noise! :) It didn't even cross my mind.

If you switch to video mode, you can easily tell if IS is working. First, turn it off and pan the camera around. There is no delay. Now turn it on, and pan left and right. You will see that the motion looks smooth on the LCD and there is a short delay when you quickly stop panning. Very obvious. The image on LCD also gets zoomed in a bit. I wonder how much resolution is lost in this process?
In video mode, the IBIS isn't used. The image is stabilised in software alone. The image is cropped, and the crop moves around the sensor frame (rather than the sensor chasing the full, un-cropped image around inside the camera body). No resolution is lost, because the video resolution is much lower than the still resolution that could be taken from that much sensor area anyway. What you do get is a slightly narrower field of view.

I don't believe that there's any way to activate the Olympus IBIS whilst seeing a live image on the screen.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom