How to shoot B&W on Olympus E-M5?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by kdern, Jan 8, 2014.

1. kdern

kdern New to Mu-43

Sep 28, 2013
    St Louis, MO
    Kevin Dern
    Hi all.

I am just learning my new E-M5 and am having trouble figuring out how to shoot black and white JPEGs. I've read that monochrome should be one of the picture modes but I don't see it on my camera.

See photo attached for a snapshot of my picture mode menu.

Am I missing something?

Also... Once I switch to mono, then where would I find the different B&W filters?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  2. Wisertime

Wisertime Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 6, 2013
    Did you scroll down the menu further? or go to the SCP and select monochrome in the top right box (picture mode)
  3. kdern

kdern New to Mu-43

Sep 28, 2013
    St Louis, MO
    Kevin Dern
    I did - monochrome is not there. In both places, the options are as listed below...

1 enhance
    2 vivid
    3 natural
    4 muted
    5 portrait
    Pop Art

4. Mix

Mix Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 8, 2013
    In Picture Mode it should have a "Monotone" as one of the options :smile:
  5. kdern

kdern New to Mu-43

Sep 28, 2013
    St Louis, MO
    Kevin Dern
    I realize that - trying to figure out why mine doesn't! Any ideas?

6. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    Check under one of the gear menu items, I seem to recall you can turn on/off a number of the picture modes displayed as a picture style.
  7. kdern

kdern New to Mu-43

Sep 28, 2013
    St Louis, MO
    Kevin Dern
    Yes - thank you. That did it!

8. Setb

Setb Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 31, 2013
    why shoot B&W ??
    shoot normal and rework the photo in photoshop or Olympus Viewer thats what i do :)
  9. stuntman

stuntman M43 FOR THIRDS 4 EVER

Jul 6, 2011
    Hit the "OK" button. In the super control menu it is in the top right. Scroll there and press "OK" again. Go to "M" and you are there.
  10. AllanR

AllanR New to Mu-43

Jun 9, 2013