How to prevent blown out white areas?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Empireme, Sep 3, 2011.

1. Empireme

Empireme Mu-43 Regular

Aug 25, 2011
    LA, CA
    I'm new to photography and I own a GH2. When I take pictures where my subject is in the shade but there's sunlight hitting a spot behind them (like the floor or a wall), the picture will have the correct exposure on my subject but the area being hit with the sunlight will be way over exposed where it's just all white. What are some tips you guys can offer so that I can avoid this from happening?

When I shoot pictures I press the shutter half way while being pointed at my subject then I click away... I noticed that I have a histogram display, but I don't know how to read it. Will understanding that graph help?
  2. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Unfortunately, when you have subjects in frame that are beyond the dynamic range they will either be completely underexposed on over exposed. This is true no matter the camera, film or digital, regardless of the brand although some may have a wider dynamic range to work with. Its a limitation. You expose for the subject that is important.

The other way to improve on the situation is to bring said subjects into a workable dynamic range. You either make the subjects that resides in the shadows lighter or you make subjects that are brightly lit darker. In your case, you would think of ways to add more light to the subject in the shade; often using fill flash. This will allow you to shorten the exposure so that the highlights in the background (determined by your Aperture and Shutter) are not over exposed while controlling the exposure of the subjects in shade (determined by intensity of flash and Aperture).