How to do Long Exposure times??? EPL1

kstevieh

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
26
Location
USA, West Virginia
I would like to try to get some pictures of waterfalls/moving water where it looks like its flowing/foggy looking and pics at night showing all the tailights/headlights streaming etc.

So how do i change exposure time on the EPL1 to do this?

Thanks
 

Blu-by-u

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
72
Location
Selangor, Malaysia
I would like to try to get some pictures of waterfalls/moving water where it looks like its flowing/foggy looking and pics at night showing all the tailights/headlights streaming etc.

So how do i change exposure time on the EPL1 to do this?

Thanks
Simple way..Set to iAUTO, then Blur motion to the max. you may need to add a ND8 in front if it's too bright. BUT watch that camera shake. if you have the camera on a tripod, then switch that IS off.
 

johnny9fingers

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
227
Location
Superior, Wisconsin USA
Hello Steve,
Here are two ways to adjust the shutter speed.
1. Set the mode dial on top of the camera to "S", this sets for shutter priority.
Press the +/- button (just above start/ok) , then press the +/- and the
timer/sequential shooting buttons to adjust the shutter speed up and down.

2. Set the mode dial to "iAuto" , then press the start/ok button to bring up the
live guide menu. Select Express Motions and move the slider up to blur
motion and down to stop motion.

Both work well.... Just play around with the settings to get the effect you desire.

Hope this helps.
John
 

kstevieh

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
26
Location
USA, West Virginia
Ill try that first...

When using the Iauto does it cover the entire range of shutter speed?

Manually doing it any different really? I still would like to know the manual way too.
 

kstevieh

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
26
Location
USA, West Virginia
I searched and cant find it....but I remember someone talking about getting a 10-15 second exposure time.....That isnt under shutter priority that I can tell. Is this even possible with the epl1?
 

johnny9fingers

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
227
Location
Superior, Wisconsin USA
60 seconds is the longest the shutter will stay open in shutter priority. In manual, you can use bulb setting and keep the shutter open as long as you hold the shutter button down....
 

antithetic

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
150
Location
City of Angels
Sorry I wasn't more clear, I'm still starting out too. In my tinkering with Shutter priority mode, the exposure times like 1/100, 1/200 are shown as '100', '200' on the LCD. Exposure times longer than a second use the quotes so 10 or 15 seconds would be 10", 15" on the LCD.
 

twalker294

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
545
Just remember, if you are shooting in daylight you will most likely need a neutral density filter if you are going to be shooting at long shutter speeds. Otherwise the whole pic will be one overexposed mess. I would use aperture priority, set the aperture to its smallest (largest number,) and the ISO to its lowest. The camera will pick the shutter speed and that's going to be the slowest shutter you can use. If that shutter speed is still too fast to blur the water then you know you need the ND filter.
 

JoepLX3

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
509
Location
Japan
60 seconds is the longest the shutter will stay open in shutter priority. In manual, you can use bulb setting and keep the shutter open as long as you hold the shutter button down....
Long exposures with your hands on the camera sounds not good, are there other ways to do bulb exposure?
- set duration up front, icw self timer (don't know if possible)?
- remote control (should work - TBC)
 

willo

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
42
Location
London
I do mine differently. I set my camera to Aperture mode and choose an high aperture, I let the camera decide the shutter speed.

Here's a shot taken during the day, I had to use 2 X ND8 and 1 ND4 stacked to get the effect. The Aperture was set to f14 which gave me 6 sec exposure.

View attachment 149140

Best thing to do is go out and practice to see which method suits you best
 

twalker294

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
545
Heard of this term but have not seen it..."Excessively small aperture may cause diffraction"

Is this true?
Yes diffraction can occur so if you can get away with it, you might back off the smallest aperture by one or two stops. However if you are in bright sunlight this may not be an option. The lighting conditions need to be your guide to determine how you set the camera.
 

Ray Sachs

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
2,704
Location
Near Philadephila
Long exposures with your hands on the camera sounds not good, are there other ways to do bulb exposure?
- set duration up front, icw self timer (don't know if possible)?
- remote control (should work - TBC)
What types of remotes are there for this type of camera. I remember the old shutter release cables with old SLRs that you could screw into virtually every shutter button in any competent camera on the market. And pretty much any of the cable releases had a little stopper you could screw closed to hold the cable in place to keep the shutter open for an extended period without having to stand there holding it. Made time exposures a lot easier. Modern shutter buttons have nothing like that, so what do people use for remotes?

edit - never mind, a simple search showed me what the current parts are. Seems like it connects through the USB port and triggers it electronically. Why not, everything else about these cameras is electronic...

-Ray
 

Bittof

New to Mu-43
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
1
Long-exposure ND filter - issue knocking lens, losing focus

Hello, all!

I have an Olympus PEN EPL-1 and have tried shooting infrared as well as daytime long exposures via 10-stop B&W filter. I think I understand the concepts and set focus before adding the filter.

However--screwing on the filter disrupts or knocks the lens just slightly, losing focus. It's maddening but surely the fault is mine. What am I missing?

Ed
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom