1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

How to change aperture w/adapted lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by bselorch, Jan 24, 2013.

1. bselorch

bselorch New to Mu-43

Jan 24, 2013
    I have a Minolta AF 35-105, 3.5-4.5 (the older beer can one) with adapter. When I put it on my G2 I can't figure out how to change the aperture. The only rings on the lens are focus and zoom. Nothing I do on the camera itself seem to change it or indicate what it is set at. As you can tell, I am somewhat new to this.
    Any help would be appreciated.

2. veereshai

veereshai Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 12, 2011
    Arlington, VA
    You're out of luck if the lens does not have aperture ring on it. Not sure if there are adapters that allow aperture to be controlled for Minolta lenses like a few that work with Nikon G lenses. And, irrespective of the adapted lens (other than the four thirds lenses where adapters have contacts) used, you are not going to get aperture information in your camera. You'll have to memorize them :wink:. But, the good part is that the DOF is visible, so just turn the ring till you get the right DOF.

3. bselorch

bselorch New to Mu-43

Jan 24, 2013
    Thanks for your reply. So there is no way to know what the aperture is set at, never mind trying to change it? An adapted lens w/o an aperture ring is pretty much useless?

4. veereshai

May 12, 2011
    Arlington, VA
    IMO, yes. Most of the adapted lenses perform very well when stopped down, but if you don't have a way of changing the aperture, then they're pretty much useless. Having said that, most adapted lenses do have aperture rings on them. Not sure about Minolta AF though.

5. Photophil

Photophil Mu-43 Regular

Nov 24, 2012
    Atlanta Georgia area