How to be sure to take at home very good shot?

Antigen

Mu-43 Regular
Hi,

i have bought a GX85, i'm a newbie of the photo world, but i know what are the differences between Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority.

I admit that i don't love to shot in total automatic mode, because i think that an automatic mode can decrease in general the quality of our photo.

But i need a suggestion, i want to do a very very good photo, and i need some suggestion how to shot.

- a lot of people tell me to shot in RAW+ Superfine JPEG
- set the camera to Program or in Aperture Mode/Shutter Mode

I see on this forum very good photo, and i know that only experience can help.

But i hope to receive some suggestion to be sure, to take some very good shot during a travel.

Thanks a lot

wjiang

Mu-43 Legend
What draws you in? What do you want to take pictures of? Take photos of said things, look at other people's photos of similar things that you like, and try and work out why you like those images. Share your images to get feedback. Improve for next time and keep practising.

Antigen

Mu-43 Regular
Landscape, travel, people, moment in family, street… actually this is my subject

But my question is if use the P, A, S... and what setting i need to activate or deactivate.

For example, i can't buy Lightroom and other software (i'm only an photo newbie) the use of RAW is a nonsense?

wjiang

Mu-43 Legend
There are no correct settings, you just have to adjust it based on the situation.

I would suggest leaving it on auto JPEG if you're first starting out, and practice to get good at composition, framing, timing, etc. You can learn how to improve from that baseline with more practice, and start adjusting settings intentionally.

As for RAW - when you get to that point, there are free RAW converters out there, e.g. RawTherapee.

ralf-11

Mu-43 All-Pro
for now, shoot with the camera set to 'P'