1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

How often do you adjust Shadows and Highlights in your pictures?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by grog, Sep 6, 2016.

1. grog

grog Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 30, 2015
    I'm a bit of a newbie to post processing and just had some basic questions. I would say I know my way around Photoshop but not to the point where I would call myself an expert.

Lately I have been tweaking my good pictures (taken with my Panasonic G3) in Photoshop (CS2) to give them a bit more pop. I have noticed that the most common adjustments I make other than cropping and straightening the horizon are adjusting the shadows and highlights followed by adjusting the contrast. When it comes to jpeg's I don't touch saturation as I feel like I have the colours down just the way I want them in camera.

Adjusting the shadows and highlights (mostly shadows) seems to be the one adjustment I need the most especially for outdoor shots, even when I have got the exposure as correct as possible when taking the picture. I should mention that by adjusting shadows and highlights I usually stick with about 5-15% correction and don't go overboard with it.

My question is do you often find yourself adjusting shadows and highlights in your pictures, or does the fact that I need to adjust them to make pictures look 'nicer' mean that I am not taking the pictures correctly?

There is a part of me that feels a bit guilty about adjusting these values for reason, like I am taking the easy way out instead of getting it right when taking the picture.

2. stratokaster

stratokaster Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 4, 2011
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Pavel
    Unless I shoot people, I usually expose to protect highlights. It means that about 95% of my pictures need shadow adjustment. (I usually slightly overexpose people shots, because underexposure really ruins skin tones.)

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 3
  3. Bruce McL