How much to charge, license, etc

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Chrisnmn, Dec 10, 2012.

1. Chrisnmn

Chrisnmn Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 26, 2012
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Chris
    Hey guys,

Im looking for some serious guidance in "how much to charge" for a set of images a clients wants to buy from me.

The story as follows:

I am a graphic designer, illustrator, photographer working right now in a well known advertising agency. In the past 2 years ive been taking quite seriously my photo hobby, and ive been getting published in some local newspapers, contest, etc. So im stoked about it.... and a couple of weeks ago one of our clients here in the agency started looking for some images, and i showed some of mine, long story short they are quite interested in buying them for a national campaign. The client is a big radio station.

I know about licenses, payments and how to charge in terms of designs and solid fixed projects (as prior to my work in agency i was a fulltime freelancer for 4 years), but i dont know how to charge in the photography dept, and how licenses, and royalties work.

Apparently this client wants to buy the images for a nationwide print campaign, plus internet related assets, as well the rights to build their own library of images and use em when they need to.

Is there any advice, recommendations, or links to where i could find more documents, maybe some price ranges and stuff?.

Im not asking you to tell me how much you charge, im looking more like, price ranges, tips and advices since im new to something like this.

Im just looking for some honest insights, and i cant think of a better place than this to do so...honestly.

If someone would like to tell me, but dont feel comfortable by putting it here, please drop me an email to chris [at] nadameansnothing.com any info is more than appreciated.

thanks in advance!.
    Chris.

• Like Like x 1
  2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay