How much does made in Japan matter vs Made in China, directly on lenses?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Abula, Nov 21, 2013.

1. Abula

Abula Mu-43 Rookie

Nov 12, 2013
    Guatemala
    Hi,

Im new to the hobby and in love with Micro 4/3, specially Olympus, never though i could take such good pictures with such a small and compact setup. That said im still on my way to completing my lens, and something that might or not matter arise. In the past, most of the Japan made stuff was highly regarded in almost any industry, but today most of the manufacturing of the world has move to China, and i see this on lenses also, specially my Oly 45mm f1.8, and some others.

The reason for this thread is mainly to gather opinions in terms of does the Japan made still carries higher value and should be pursue or China manufacturing on lenses in on par with Japan? Looking for mainly Olympus manufacturing.

2. photo_owl

photo_owl Mu-43 Regular

Nov 8, 2013
    makes no difference IMO

I have had lenses and bodies, over the existence of the E system and m43, made in both by Olympus and there's not been any difference

All such things change over time - I don't know how old you are but over the last 40 years there have been times no-one would touch a Japanese made car (as an example) for quality reasons........then they were considered the best (Lexus) and currently others are fighting back (slowly!).

non issue

3. metalmania

metalmania Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 19, 2012
    NYC
    No difference.

4. Neftun

Neftun Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 15, 2012
    Norway
    Patrick Kristiansen
    In my experience, the premium products tend to be made in Japan, everything else in PRC. As for quality, the chinese seem very able to reproduce a product according to specs cheaply, as seen in the 45mm. Judging by the premium feel of the 75mm and other lenses I've come across, the Japanese just make stuff more awesomer, if not necessarily better:)

Patrick K

• Like Like x 2
  5. phrenic