1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

How many megapixels do you really need?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by MadMarco, Jan 7, 2015.

1. MadMarco

MadMarco Mu-43 Veteran

Oct 30, 2014
    Guildford, England
    TLDR summary: 16MP is probably enough for what most people do with their images ***

I often see discussions related to the sensor resolution on digital camera forums and I've been meaning to write an article on a forum giving my take on the subject.

I’m not a professional photographer and never have been; I would describe myself as an amateur with a good technical background. What I am is an IT professional with years of experience, a good chunk of which was spend working for a company that provided digital imaging and printing solutions for large corporations to resell to both professionals and end users. My role was to develop and build the back-end server systems that handled the front-end web services, storage and processing of the images. As a result I know my way around (although I am certainly not an expert) a variety of professional printing solutions from wet film minilabs (C41b chemistry), inkjet minilabs through to warehouse printing labs.

So anyway; onto the main point of the discussion, how many megapixels do you need?

My first caveat is that I am not considering the usage case whereby the source image has been heavily cropped to produce the final image. This has the potential to change the maths in favour larger megapixel sensors. Secondly I am aware that some printing solutions can be configured to accept and input resolution of greater than 300ppi, it’s just that most aren’t configured this way (you may have a friendly lab owner that might do this for you).

Viewing on the screen