How long do you predict the Panasonic DMC-G5 will be avail "new" before discontinued totally?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by unstable_rider, Feb 9, 2014.

1. unstable_rider

unstable_rider Mu-43 Regular

Feb 9, 2014
    Land of Lakes

First post from the new guy here.

I have been enjoying the M43 system for a few months (Olympus PEN 2) and am seriously considering a move to the wonderful Panasonic DMC-G5.

I confess, I really had not followed the Panny line of M43 bodies, as I am pretty happy with my Olympus Pen 2, yet I take advantage of some of the Lumix lenses that I certainly enjoy.

I met this gal lately, whom showed me her Panasonic G2. I was quite impressed that it had a viewfinder, flip/rotating screen, and more ergonomic feeling body (the camera, not the gal).

In some brief research, I noted quickly that the Panasonic G2 is essentially on about the same level as my PEN 2, as far as megapixels. The nice gal mentioned that Panasonic has the DMC-G5 that I might be more happy with, many of the same features of her G2, but a couple more megapixels, and some other features I might enjoy as I like to shoot HDR. Seems the DMC-G5 will shoot a pretty long bracketing burst for me, like 7 images?

Anyway, I started looking for a new in box (not refurb) Panasonic DMC-G5.

I was startled to see that a few sources, I think B & H, already show them as "discontinued".

I was pleased to see Amazon had them (body only) for $349. (as of 02/09/2014 when I last checked).

My quest, or "question" really is, how long does anyone think the DMC-G5 will be available before going extinct from reputable sellers?

Should I chance it and wait awhile to see if the price drops even more, or are they likely to be all gone, zip, no more, extinct?

Certainly, they would always be avail. through such sources as ebay, but I feel fairly safe trading with Amazon thus far, if people like B & H can't accommodate.

Any qualified predictions?